Eating on SNAP, Week 3

This week was pretty good. I spent $78.06 at the grocery store of the $97.50 that I had to spend.

The written Menu, maybe you’ve noticed that what I write down and what happens is not always the same.. lol.. oh life!

Sun: Chicken breast tacos- Hubby found a tex-mex seasoning recipe and tried it out on the chicken breasts that I still had uncooked from the Buffalo Chicken Bread recipe. So yummy! We also soaked the chicken breasts in buttermilk overnight and they were so tender and juice when they came off the grill! Buttermilk will now be on my shopping list when we cook chicken breasts. 

Mon: Chicken Thighs, salad, zucchini, leftover potato pieces, and Bread- Hubby had put together a sauce that he wanted to try on Chicken Thighs, and I was game for it. It was very yummy and made for a good dinner.

Tue: Fajitas- I love fajitas! I really love them at restaurants with margaritas and someone else cooking and cleaning, but it’s not cost effective to go frequently so we make them at home also. You can use any fajita seasoning you want and there are lots of pre-made options out there. In my house we use the Fajita mix recipe from Steven R. It’s yummy and easy and we have all the seasonings in our well stocked spice cabinet anyways, so why spend money on what I already have?

Wed: Burgers- This was to please Hubby. We used a blend of Silrion and Tri Tip and it was pretty good. 

Thur: Salmon, ended up being Fajita Leftovers- My chunk of Flat Iron was way bigger then I thought, so we had lots of leftovers to cover lunches and another dinner. I did have to go buy more peppers for it, but oh well, they went on sale mid week! 

Fri: Buffalo Chicken Left Overs, ended up being nachos- neither of us were overly hungry for dinner. I had a frozen latte at Costco while my tires were rotated because my work meeting lunch sucked and I was hungry.

Sat: Pizza, ended up being Leftovers- The leftovers needed to get eaten, so I put my foot down on this night and made us eat them. 

Breakfast: Hubby is still eating the muffins from last week so no added cost to this week. I am eating yogurt and muffin depending on the day.

Total Out $90ish:
-SNAP
Fred Meyer: $73.56
Safeway: $4.50

-Items Already on Hand-
Burger Patties- I make my own burger grinds as it’s cheaper when ground beef isn’t on sale. That and I can control quality and play with the textures.
All the chicken
Tortillas
Buns

Splurges:
Flat Iron Steak, $16.67: It was in the closeout bin and fajitas sounded great!

Blueberries, $7.66 for 3lbs, Miss GoGo loves blueberries and we were shopping at Elevenses time, and they were on sale and it’s not bad food, so I bought them and let her snack on them while we shopped. I would rather buy her blueberries then the 99 cent candy bar. Why does healthy have to be so expensive!?! 😦

Other Meals:
Siggis Yogurt, $5.76 for 4 after coupon- I had a coupon and love this yogurt so I bought some for breakfast for me this coming week. I’ll top it with granola or the museli from last week’s purachase to make breakfast last me to lunch.

Gerber Prunes, $4 for 4 after coupon- Miss GoGo needs prunes to help keep her regular. This is life long issue so far for us and this is the best method to fight this issue. She eats a container a day, minimum, to help keep her regular.

Yoplait Dipper, $0.79- It was marked down and I have a weakness for them.
Vegetable cooking spray, $3.83 for 2 after coupon- Hubby uses these sprays on the grill, and I use them on baking dishes. Our current on was running out so when i found the coupon I bought them.

Only 1 more week to go in July.

Enjoy!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

