Food Clean Out, Step 2b

When I started this post it was super negative, still a little negative but better. Also, I was very very anti app based money back sites. I still don’t love their privacy policies, but I though about it and the other things I do online (i-say, HarrisPoll, google) and it felt kind of stupid. So I rewrote it.

This is just a tangent to Step 2 that entered my brain while I was writing Step 2. Why are my costs so high, when I see 100’s of pins about lower food costs or more people with the same amount of funds? It was a very good question indeed and I was compelled to go find out why!

Some of the biggest trends I saw that differed from my routine were the shopping locations. A lot of blogs out there about low grocery bills seem to have ALDI available to them. Little old West Coast and I don’t have ALDI. The other popular shopping place is Walmart, and my house doesn’t support Walmart.

Another popular money saving tip I see concerns the use of Third Party app based money back sites, ie Ibotta, Ebates, ect. I am still playing with these but so far, it’s not much worse than couponing 🙂

Oh coupons! I did couponing once a while ago. $3 for a Sunday paper in hopes of getting enough coupons out of that paper to cover the $3 plus still give you a few more dollars in savings, mmm… It was okay but I ended up with a lot of stock and some unneeded items because I could get great prices on them. Also ended up a lot of wasted newspaper that just needed recycling and a lot of wasted coupons; things I never buy or have a need for. My Hubby makes snide comments every time I get a newspaper about going back to couponing. And now, most companies have fixed the system so that you can’t double or triple a coupon, IE on 2 products use 5 50 cent off coupons. Sure, they still have their place and I use the coupons Fred Meyers sends me and has online, but I don’t buy a paper. Also, on my last fore with paper coupons, I learned that the Fred Meyer online coupons are sometimes manufacturing coupons and are the same coupons as in the paper and not combine able.

Also, how far do you drive to save money? I am with in 10 miles of Fred Meyer, my main shopping location, and my “oh I forgot this for dinner” location is on my way home. Currently the reimbursement rate for car mileage is 53 cents per mile (gas, wear and tear, depreciation, insurance). No blogs that I have found have added that cost back into their final grocery bill and reported the… corrected… price of the groceries vs some place closer with a higher sticker price, but lower car price.

I’ve downloaded several of the App rebate ones and am trying them out. Let’s see if embarrassing the apps, stacking coupons with them (you can do that!), and paying better attention to sales, helps save a good chunk of money without having to give up my preferred store.

Enjoy!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

