France with a Toddler- Part 1 Basic Planning

Yes, that is correct. We took Miss GoGo to France with us! So Hubby was headed back to France on business and it was decided that Miss GoGo and I could afford to go with him, as his company will cover the big pieces (hotel, his airfare, his food, ect) so we only have to pay for Miss GoGo and me, so why not go? I did a similar trip back in 2014 when he went last time, but this time we get to go someplace different! We went to Grenoble via Paris this time; last time it was Annecy via Geneva.

So planning, the hardest part! We knew 7-ish weeks out that he was going and the floating question mark was if Miss GoGo and I would also go. We did her passport, expedited even, just in case because we knew that would take time. At the 6 week mark, the rumored magic number for airline tickets, I decided we weren’t going as the cost was outrageous; $1200+! Finally, 4 weeks before the departure day his work finalized location. The rush was on!

I was at work when I got an IM from Hubby, that tickets had dropped back to reasonable rates. I looked, we agreed that it was good prices, and the anxious wait was on for him to purchase tickets. Why did I wait to purchase my tickets? Because I wanted to know what flights and seats he was on before I bought mine. This way, he could help me with Miss GoGo and maybe sit together. We did manage to, finally, get seats together. Delta doesn’t list their Delta Comfort+ on Expedia and you have to go through the website or app to get those seats. Last time we flew United Economy Plus and it was worth the extra money! I also wanted the 4 extra inches as Miss GoGo is under 2 and riding on our laps vs in her own seat.

With plane tickets secured to Paris (including upgrades I paid $950ish) I started looking at what to do in Grenoble, keeping in mind that I would have a toddler in tow all week. I could have gone for a short time frame as Hubby was in meetings most of the time, but didn’t want to rush a toddler through the days to see everything. Nap time is important to her, and her parents, happiness levels!Shopping List for France!

Then, Hubby throws a curve ball at me. Why not spend a day in Paris? Why not indeed? So we agreed on the 3 things we really wanted to see, any guesses?? That’s right, The Louve, The Efflie Tower, and Notre Dame de Paris were the three we wanted to see given the time we had to see them. So, now there was that to look at and plan for. Remember that I only had 4 weeks from ticket purchase to departure day to make these plans out, purchase the little things, make packing list, pack suitcase, pack toddler friendly carry-on, double check packing, triple check the passports, and make care and keeping plans for the dogs! I was highly strung and stressed out!! Oh, and work my 8-5 desk job with an event to help execute!

BREATH!!

Up Next:
Part 2- Planning and Execution of Packing

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

