Baby Sleeping Tips

Miss Go Go is a great little sleeper, 90% of the time. She has been sleeping through the night since she was a little less than a year old and I wanted to share my tips on how I did it because some of them go against the main stream tips.

  • Cut the late nap short- This was the hardest part! At the time we had to start cutting her nap shorts she would get home about 4:30 to 5pm and be sound asleep in her car seat from the drive home. I get that children need sleep, so I would let her sleep till about 5:45pm and start the wake up cycle and have her awake by 6pm. Her bedtime has always been 7:30pm, so this gave us 1.5 hours with her to eat, play, and have bath time. This also gave her time to wear down after her nap and be ready to go back to sleep and sleep for along time during the night. 10% of the time she would wake up cranky, be cranky, and I would put her down for the night because she just needed her happy sleep. Hubby questioned it, men, till we had a baby sitter that let her sleep till she woke up naturally around 7pm, she eneded up not being ready for bed till I went to bed at around 9pm. Than he understood why I woke her up, and what it meant for Us if she was up all night. So moral of the tip: don’t let them sleep late in the afternoon and give them at least 1.5 hours to 2 hours before trying to get them back to sleep.
  • Light and Noise are Good- Hear me out before you get grumpy! I don’t go out of my way to reduce the light and noise around Miss Go Go when she is trying to fall asleep and stay asleep. Doing so would only hinder daycare naps, car trip naps, vacations, and life. When she falls asleep next me on the sofa, more when she was an infant then currently, I didn’t move her. I tucked her in tight, placed pillows around her, and didn’t go far from her. I also didn’t close the currents, turn the radio/TV down or off. She fell asleep with all that stuff going on after all, why turn it off? Maybe because of not protecting her from the light or just personality she sleeps anywhere now and is pretty good at sleeping.
  • Don’t react at every whimper- I don’t react at every little whimper she makes at night. We can talk in our sleep, why not babies? Yes, it wakes me up and I check the monitor to see what is going on. If she is not showing signs of distress, I leave her alone and wait and see what happens next. If she doesn’t make another sound, I fall back to sleep. If she starts crying I get up and go reassure her. Sometimes this is just rocking her for a few minutes and putting her back to bed. Some nights, it’s rocking, cuddling in Mommy and Daddy’s bed, and back to the crib to play. It might seem harsh, but when I pull her into our bed, and she wiggles and starts to play, aka doesn’t settle down to sleep, she goes back to her crib with a few toys. I need my happy sleepy, her daddy needs his happy sleepy, and Miss Go Go needs to learn that play time at 1am is a crib activity. While I don’t jump at every whimper, I do respond to every cry and Mommy call. This has given her the confidence to play at 1am, I’ve caught her doing that on the monitor when something has roused me, but know that if she’s in distress her needs will be addressed.
  • Routine- Everyone talks about this and it really is a Golden Rule! I love my routines, so it’s only natural that my child would also..lol. I pretty much follow the same routine every morning and night at about the same time also. Miss Go Go has her routines also that we do, with only slight variations based on mood and necessity. At night we do Daddy kiss, teeth, diaper, PJ’s, book if she’s content enough, Mommy hug and kiss, and bed with Teddy tucked in with her and music box on. We don’t read every night because on her distraught nights, overtired grumpies, she won’t sit still and just cries over what you are trying to read in a calm voice. In the morning it depends on if she wakes herself up or I have to wake her up. Recently she’s been getting up at 5am which is when I get up Monday – Friday. On those days, the end part of the routine varies the most, but the beginning is the same. We get up, change diaper, get dressed, and leave the bedroom. When she’s gotten up early, I’ve made us breakfast, scrambled eggs usually, and we eat breakfast together and on the days where I have to wake her up, she gets out of the bedroom with her shoes on and into the truck with Daddy; daycare will feed her breakfast.
  • Find your own perfect- This is what works for me and it did take some trial and errors, and some “training” on mom and dad to find what worked. Just because this is my perfect doesn’t make it your perfect 🙂 Play or don’t play with these tactics, but do remember that if you start and repeat something often enough that your baby will expect it time after time. Breaking baby habits and disrupting the exceptions are hard! Once you do find the perfect groove though, stick to it and enjoy it!

What not so usually thing do you, or did you, do for your child to get them to sleep?

Enjoy!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

