Finally Moving Up!

Yeah!! I started a new position in my current company and it’s not in Customer Service!!!

I have spent my entire working life, about 10 years, in Customer Service. Sure, I did HR at a big retail store but it was a split role, 20% HR outside of the holiday season and 80% customer service. So really, still a customer service job given it’s what I did the majority of time. Don’t get me wrong though, I have learned a lot in customer service.

I’ve learned how to deal with multiple levels of corporate people. Pissed off customers that refused to believe that I couldn’t or wouldn’t kiss their butts. Multiple computer systems and boss types ranging from breathing down your neck or couldn’t care less as long as the job gets done. I have worked with some amazing people over the years and worked shitty work schedules ranging from working all weekend to working just part of the weekend. But being patience and staying with the crap jobs and working the shitty schedules has finally payed off.

In basic my new job is working with prices and contracts. Not sure of the full scope of the job as it is evolving as I am stepping in to it. But my hard work and an unknown reputation, yeah apparently I have one that I didn’t know I had, are paying off. Yes I am totally excited for a new opportunity and things to learn, but that’s not the entire purpose of this post. I also have some often heard advice for other Millennial’s; yes, I am part of the Millennial generation.

  1. Work your ass off in the crap job! Oh Cohorts, I hate this about most of you. You get your degree from college and expect to have a corner office the day after graduation. Guess what, it’s not going to happen! You, we as a group,  have to prove yourself still. All you have proven with that piece of paper from college is that you can study and take tests; remember I do have a college degree myself. That piece of paper doesn’t prove that you can function under real pressure and make real make it or break it decisions when you have too. So suck it up buttercup and go work the weekends, for not much above minimum wage, and prove that you are willing to do the time and excel at the basics.
  2. Learn to stop working! Workaholics get taken advantage of. It’s a simple and hard fact to learn and address. Learn to unplug from work a few hours a day and on the weekends. Put that energy and time into other things in your life like friends, family, hobbies, and your own well being. It doesn’t pay to work all the time but it does pay to balance yourself!

Also, I hate elbow rubbers!  I hate the fact that getting promoted early these days is about elbow rubbing and playing nice. Okay, it might just be the fact that I don’t rub elbows with people and could careless if you are offended by my Why questions; if you are offended by it than you probable are making the wrong decision in the first place. What is the point of learning your job and perfecting your job if getting promoted is based on who you know and not what you know?

Hard work, being balanced in life, and knowing and perfecting your job does pay off in the long run. But you have to be willing to invest in the long run and be willing to work for it. Sorry cohorts, but we won’t get corner offices right out from college. Work for it and make a solid foundation for yourself so when you get that corner office, you have the support and respect of those below you because you have earned it.

Enjoy!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

