Food Budgeting Act 3

In this Act I will… defend… my choice of stores and practices.

Why Fred Meyer:
I choose to do 90% of my shopping at Fred Meyer for several reasons.
1) Gas Points! My Hubby drives a Diesel pickup every day. It also has a 35 gallon tank so it can be very spendy the once a month he fills it up. When we use our Fred Meyer Rewards card while shopping we earn points towards a discount on diesel. When we buy gift cards we can earn double points and sometimes even 4x the points on them. On average given point build ups he can save 80 cents a gallon when he fills his tank. This savings equates to about $30 a tank when he fills it each month. I only buy us gift cards to places we already spend money; Lowes, HomeDepot, Amazon, ect. and not fluff places or unneeded places.

2) Coupons! With the Rewards Card I have given them permission to track my purchases and in doing so they send coupons and print coupons for things that I show a history of purchasing. Instead of having to go buy a Sunday paper ($2-3 depending on which paper you get) and hope to find enough applicable coupons for things I purchase, I get coupons for things I have a history of purchasing.

3) Rebate! Fred Meyer Rewards gives a rebate every quarter if you spend more than $500? dollars that quarter with them. Again, free money for just spending money with them. Add this average of about $13 a quarter onto the Diesel Fuel savings each month and just in those two areas we are looking at about $100 in savings not even including the coupons.

The Other 10% of my Shopping:
Costco- We do shop at Costco for a few items. We purchase Milk (2 gallons for $3 ish), Muffins (we split a muffin for breakfast and a double pack gets us 3ish weeks), dog food, engine oil, and some other odds and ends. When I am down at that end of town I fill my car as they average 4 cents lower than everyone else in town, but not much of difference to justify the drive down to that side just to fill my car.

Winco/Discount Food- Okay, when I need Mexican spices, bulk candy, and things like that I go to these stores. So maybe once every two months or so. They are at the other end of town and if not already down there for other things it’s not worth the gas to go there for a hand full of products.

Local Stores- I have to driver past a locally owned grocery store to get home every night. So on those nights where I need one or two things due to changes in menu or missing a piece for dinner, I’ll stop and get it vs going out of my way to get a few things.

Why Not Cash:
1) Cash is easy to lose. If I store it in my wallet with my “free” money, it might get spent by accident. If I store it in its own wallet/envelope it might fall out when my purse gets tossed IQ Totalaround or the Baby goes through it. To me, those risks out weight the benefit of controlled hard cash. I don’t want to risk that periods food money. I use other means to control and track cost. The Grocery IQ app lets you input the price and will add it up. I’ve done it with paper and a calculator in College before a Smartphone. It is possible to control what you spend without paying cash.

2) The card. It’s 100% hard to lose my cards as it rides around with my license. I also get kick backs (miles, cash back) by paying with my card. Also, when I need to return something I don’t have to know exactly where the receipt is, as stores can look up purchases with a card.

No Newspaper Coupons:
You have to buy a newspaper or be signed up for a coupon resource to get coupons. If you read the rest of the papers great! If you are like me and don’t read the paper it’s a waste of money. Sure, if you have the space to extreme coupon and might actually use all those items before they go bad great. Or are you doing it because it’s the In Thing to do and you have fallen into the psychological trap of extreme couponing?

No Rebate Sites:
Sorry, but not going to give out my information to more third party spammers just to make a couple bucks. And yes, when you sign up with any of those sites in the privacy policy it does says they will share our information with their partners but can’t control what those partners do with the information. How else do you think they make money?

Yes, while this series may come across and shaming it’s not meant that way. It is meant to show some of the perceived flaws in how others are doing their grocery control. You can net a savings you just have to look at what you are getting back in the long run. Shopping at some locations while might save you money, what bad economy and employment habits are you supporting? How much are spending in ads and newspapers to save money and how much savings are you really netting? How far are you traveling and spending in gas/battery power versus how much are saving at your destination. If you are spending $5 in fuel to have a total of $10, is the net savings of $5 really all that worth it?

Also, something else to keep in the back of the mind, if we support nation wide chains and foreign chains what happens to the little guys? The little guys being the local chains (with stores in 1 to 3 states only) and the local little farmers stores that don’t have the purchasing power for low prices but keep your neighbors employed and give the teens a summer job.

Enjoy!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

