Food Budgeting Act 1

Okay, so on Pinterest you see a slew of Pins with Titles like “Family of 5 eating for $200 a month” and other similar titles conveying larger families and low budgets. I have a few buttons with these plans after looking over them.

  1. Where they Shop-
    Most of these posters shop at Wal-Mart and Aldi. The nearst Aldi to me is in Kansas and I am in Oregon. Not a realistic shopping location for me. Wal-Mart is another issue. We don’t support Wal-mart in our house for several reasons. My biggest reason is the employment practices that they have and how I don’t agree with it and how it hurts the people working there.
  2. Large use of Coupons-
    Yes, while coupons are very helpful to have and use, it’s flawed. You have to buy a newspaper or subscribe to a coupon giver to get the coupons. Spend money to save money is not something I want to do anymore. I did do it once. I got caught up in the whole save money thing once and ended up spending more trying to use the coupons and pay for the paper than I really saved. Now, I do use the Fred Meyer coupons that I get because I shop there anyways and try to only use the ones I need and not just use them to use them. I fail sometimes, especially on the M&M ones.
  3. Use of Outside Rebate Programs-
    The biggest example of this is Ibotta. While it is cool to get money back for everyday purchases Ibotta says in their Privacy Policy that they WILL share your information with Third Parties.

So how does my budget compare to theirs you are probable asking your self now. Well here’s it is:

The Budget-
I budget $300 a paycheck, $600 a month for food and grocery store visits

What does that cover-
That covers all the normal house crap that you buy at the grocery store, typically Fred Meyer is my go to. It is things like milk, dog food, shampoo, flour, face cleaner, and shave cream. It also includes Schwan’s and eating out.

Who is Covered-
We have 2 adults, a baby, and 2 pups.
The 2 adults we have one, me 🙂 , is a foody and likes buying good fresh foods and meats. The other, the Male, is a carnivore and in the summer Smokes and Grills all summer long.
The Baby is at the stage in life where I am making her own food. She also gets snacks from the store and the budget accounts for that.
The Pups are also included in this budget. Their monthly-ish dog food bag and their dog treats all come from this budget.

Payment-
A good chunk of the other blogs I’ve seen tout using cash instead of card to control the budget spending. While it is a good point and a good control, what happens if your purse is grabbed or the kids clean it out for you? If like us you don’t carry the cash with you other methods to control the spending are 1) jot the prices down next to your item and keep a running total or 2) us an app like Grocery IQ that lets you put in the prices next to the items and totals your cart for you; I love this app personally!

So the next questions I guess would be How does my Spending compare to theirs? Well, that will be Act 2 🙂

Enjoy!

P.S.- If you have a specific post you want to see compared let me know

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

