2016 Garden

Ah, garden planning. I love it and hate it all in one swoop. My OCD gets in the way sometimes when it comes to planning, especially with my garden. It would be better if I just opened the packets and sprinkled them and called it good. But no, I can’t do that. I have a self imposed process. **grumble Brain grumble** I do 3 time consuming things.

  1. Picking the Plants-
    I just can’t grab and go like a friend of mine. I pick and look at what we like from last year, what we will really eat, and contemplate something fun to try.
  2. Companion Planting-
    I have used this method the last 2 years and have had great success with it; when I properly water. The science behind it is fascinating but what really matters is that it works because of what plants take out of the soil and release into it. Sure, it takes a lot of work to make it all go together and sometimes I’ve had to sacrifice a plant or the planting method to make it all fit.
  3. Square Foot Planting-
    If you do any sort of garden inquires you will see this pop up over and over again. Yes, it is a little more time consuming when it comes to thinning out the seedlings and may reduce the output of your garden. However, it can increase your output from lack of overcrowding and resource competition.

While it is a good chunk of work and mental energy to make this all work out, the internet has some great tools to make it all easier.

  1. Picking the Plants- Nope sorry, this is all you! The internet cannot tell you what you like or dislike when it comes to eating. However, it can tell you what will grow well in your area. Check with your local extension office to see what they have published about this topic or a Master Gardener club to see what they recommend.
  2. Companion Planting- There are so many resources for this one! I currently love Windcrest Farm’s guide! Not only does it show you what to plant with each other and not to plant with each other but also what plants reply the wrong bugs and attract the right ones.
  3. Square Foot Planting- Again, something with a lot of resources on the internet for it! Currently I am using the SFG Planner Online to help with this years garden. If you set up an account with them, quick and easy and haven’t been spammed yet, it will save your garden so you can update it with planting dates and look at it from anywhere. It also auto loads what they think to be the best number of plants per square foot. However, you can also edit that number to meet whatever you want plant or did plant. It also has this great timeline of when things will be ready to harvest based on when you planted it.

This year my garden looks like this (screen clip from SFG Planner):

Strawberries (permeant plants)
Onions (might try as a cover crop this fall)

The 2016 Garden layout from SFG Planner

The 2016 Garden layout from SFG Planner

Lettuce (replant after picking)
Peppers- Bell and Jalapeño
Tomato Plant
Corn
Cucumber
Squash- Zucchini, Acorn, and Pumpkin
Carrots (replant after picking)
Radish
Potatoes
Garlic (might try as cover crop this fall)
Raspberries (not pictured as they have their own solo planter)

I will also plant sunflowers and marigolds as an attempt to reply the bad bugs and maybe attract the good ones; plus they add pretty colors 🙂

I also have and love the Timberpress Guide to Gardening book Specifically for the Pacific Northwest! I use it in tandom with the information that I find from the sites I have already talked about and find that they usually support each other and the information is the same almost all the time!

What are you planning on planting this year?

Enjoy!

 

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

