Hamburgers and Buns, from Scratch

For Christmas I was spoiled. I was gifted the Kitchen Aid Food Grinder and the Pasta Rollers.

I have played with the Pasta Roller as I had a hand crank pasta roller so nothing new. I can now do some of the flavored pasta as it’s not so much work to roll it out! However, the Food Grinder is completely new to me!

So what do you do with a Food Grinder? You make Hamburgers of course!! Yes, while it might be time-consuming and some hunting to get the right meats vs just grabbing and going from the store, it can be cheaper; depends on the cuts of meat you use of course. Okay, and I ground up some Mango for the Baby to eat and will probable start using it more for that purpose.

I started my Hamburger Patty Beef mix with a Google search. Sure, I could have gone to the store, grabbed a hunk of Sale meat and called it good. However, I know for a fact that not all cuts are equal and a good patty is a blend of cuts. I found this amazing site called The Burger Lab! He breaks down the different cuts of meat and how they will affect the final product that you eat. Something he doesn’t mention though is Bison. Bison is a very very lean meat but very tender and a great base! So if you do Bison you need a good fat source in your mix like Bacon, Chuck, or Ox tail. I did two combos in a single sitting this weekend; my Hubby was in 7th heaven!

Process:
Sadly, but logically, you cannot just place the meat in the grinder and go. It does need to be cubed into about 1 inch pieces and frozen for about 30 minutes so it is firm but not rock solid. It is also helpful to chill the blade and the cutter disk.

Combo 1)
Meat Combination:
12 oz Bison- I used a package of Simple Truth 85/15 from Fred Meyer as I had a coupon for it 🙂
7 oz Chuck- Grabbed some from the Meat Department that had a good chunk of fat
10 oz Bacon- I used a package of Simple Truth Bacon as, again, I had a coupon 🙂

Results:
While it looks like it has a good chunk of fat init, it wasn’t grease. It was nicely balanced on the palate and not over bearing in anyone area. It will be a great combination for stuffing and seasoning.

Combo 2)
9 oz Sirloin- I grabbed some from the Meat Department
7 oz Chuck- Grabbed some from the Meat Department that had a good chunk of fat
6 oz Bacon- I used a package of Simple Truth Bacon as, again, I had a coupon 🙂

Results:
Once again it was a great patty! Not heavy in anyone area on the palate and another great base burger for making exciting burgers with.

The next “issue” was the Buns. I didn’t want to use store buns, as I can do them myself without to many issues in life I just needed the right recipe. Because I forgot to start the dough the night before, bad Tara!, I went and found a different Pretzel Bun recipe. It a good same day recipe and here are my little comments on this recipe:

1) Use fresher yeast, I think she used “dead” yeast as she reports not getting a good rise on it. Once you open it, store it in the fridge to keep is “alive”.
2) If you want uniform roll size, use a scale like I did. I also ended up doing 4 ounce rolls to get the 8 from the recipe that I wanted.Pretzel Bun
3) I used 3 1/2 cups bread flour, and 1 cup all-purpose flour and they turned out soft and yummy!
4) I skipped the second rising after forming them and still had large rolls!

All in all, this recipe is going onto my Tried and True Food board to be used again when needed.

They were great Burgers all together and Hubby was thrilled with being so spoiled with 2 burgers in a meal!

Enjoy!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

