HelloFresh Review

We have tried HelloFresh a couple times now and here is my feed back on it.

80% Love!!

They are losing points on Pricing. The pricing for 3 meals for 2 people is $70 bucks. That is $11.67 per person per meal. It’s a bit spendy but it is free shipping direct to my door. All the big parts are provided ingredient wise and the directions are clear.

They are also losing points on the Recipes. While the recipes are good and written well they fail to give alternative outdoor cooking instructions with the recipe. It seems that they make the assumption that their customers aren’t capable or comfortable grilling or cooking outdoors. They also don’t provide outdoor cooking only recipes; where the meat and sides are all cooked outside. Given that it is summer and most of the states are seeing warmer weather why  not take advantage of that and introduce your willing customers to new cooking options and techniques?

The big question: Is a box worth it?

I had Hubby pick three of the recipes that we could see online and went shopping for comparable quality products that I am seeing the boxes they send. We have:

Ground Angus Beef $4.99
Roma Toma 24 cents
Mayo ~15 cents
Rolls 2.29
Shredded cheddar $2
Balsamic Vinegar- 66 cents
Red Onions $1.06
Garlic ~ 5 cents
Romain Hearts
Ketchup ~ 30 cents
Shrimp $6.87
Jalapeño 10 cents
Avocado $1.98
English Cucumbers $1
Lemon $1
Tomatoes 1.21
Tortillas 1.50
Chicken breast $6.9p
Tomatillo $0.36
Limes $1
Shallot $1
Corn $1
Honey- 30 cents
Cilantro $1.18

Grand total of $47.23 from my local grocery store. Lets add 15% for high quality that they can get so that gives us a working total of $54.31. That leaves $15.61 for their costs. Is it worth it to me to include them in my weekly menu? No. Is it worth it to me to include them in my busy weeks or when coming back from vacation or going on vacation? Yes. All the shopping done, menu ready, and just needs cooking is great for busy weeks and me. But not every week or every other week even but on those crappy busy weeks.

The big question answer: Depends on the week

I do recommend you at least look at them 🙂 They have some great recipes!

Enjoy!

 

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

