Nursing with a cover

Be warned, I might be a little soap boxy on this one.

Yes, I nurse with a cover when not at home. Even when at home with guests i typically us a cover.

Moms who don’t use a cover no matter where they are… More power to you! My choice to use a cover at all times when not at home, is all based on my comfort.

First, I very much respect the women who nurse without a cover in public. Please don’t take my post here as trying to tell you that you are wrong to do it. We are both doing what is best for our child and to cover or not is just a difference in process. I am just not comfortable nursing my child without it in front of people. Baby B is not a big fan of the cover either.

As we hardly, currently at least, are in a position to use the over Baby B isn’t overly familiar with it. Also, Baby B likes to make eye contact and look up while nursing and can’t do so while covered. Yes, it makes Baby B a little more grumpy while nursing but Baby still feeds just fine under it. But like I said, it is my comfort level that prompts me to cover.

Yes, Hubby loves that I cover when nursing around others. Something about not showing off my body and “goods” to others as it “belongs” to him. If push came to shove and I didn’t want to nurse with a cover or couldn’t due to the needs of Baby well, he would just have to deal. My body and I am doing the best for our child. Luckily for him though, I am not comfortable without it. I own bikinis but prefer my one piece for actual usage. The bikini is best for tanning but the one piece I can swim in and play in!

It just boils down to not being comfortable with displaying that much skin and private areas to the public. Don’t get me wrong, I am pretty sure that I’ve flashed another table when trying to get her out from underneath or when she kicks the cover; it just can’t be avoided sometimes.

Moms that nurse without a cover, more power to you! I am glad that you are 1) breastfeeding your baby as it is best for them and you and 2) comfortable enough to do it!

Enjoy!

PS- Here is my favorite cover maker 🙂 All you need is cloth (blanket or jacket) and the strap and you have a cover!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

