Why I need to stop reading Pregnancy Boards

Yes, I am going to climb high atop my soap box. Turn back now if you don’t want to read a vent about my gender, pregnancy, and high school behavior.

I am so over pregnancy discussion boards! They do nothing but irritate me and make me wonder about other women who are both older and younger than me. The things that irk me the most:

1) Is this normal? If you are really that concerned about something being normal, call your doctors office! My Docs office has an emergency pregnancy line for just questions like the ones posed. Also, health professionals aren’t assigned to these boards and don’t answer these questions. Just because other woman have had the same thing, doesn’t make your case normal.

2) Concerned about Autism/Down Syndrome/ect.-  These are risks that you needed to evaluate and come to a collision about BEFORE trying for a child. They are no know direct causes or ways to prevent either one of these and a lot of others. If you know you aren’t going to be strong enough to take on child with one of the many potential disabilities that can occur, look at adopting a child.

3) Look at my stroller/car seat/ect.- This is all high school behavior. It’s the same behavior that is seen in competing the with neighbors or a friend about your life and items. Its great that you LOVE your item but bragging about it, thats all high school.

4) Complaining about your man- Oh good grief ladies, this isn’t all about us females. It isn’t just our lives that are changed forever. Our mens lives are also changing forever with this baby. Also, how are the men supposed to relate to us and the changes we are going through if we fail to effectively communicate with them? Bitching at them and yelling at them is not effective communication. That form of communication will only do harm to your relationship. Talk with them in a calm fun manner and tell them what your body feels like and is doing. Tell them when Baby is being a pain and kicking the same spot over and over again. Give them your pregnancy book to look through if they want, or heck, mark things that you think they will find interesting. But don’t yell or bitch them out not understanding. They have no frame of reference for what we are going through and are not going to want to support you if every time they ask you a question or come near you, you yell.

5) Complaining about your situation- This one relates to complaining about men but is more focused at single/dating females. If you didn’t want your life forever effected and involved with the man of your baby, why the heck did you have sex with him? Sex is not a form of love. Sex is all about physical gratification and has nothing to do with emotional and long term gratification. To make a relationship last, you need to be on similar emotional levels and emotional commitments. Plus, there is no safe sex or 100% way besides abstinence to guarantee you won’t ever have a STD or a Baby. So ladies, if you don’t want to have him as the father/male DNA of your child, don’t have sex. It really really is that easy!

These are the top 5 that just drive me nuts when I read through the boards. This type of behavior doesn’t help each other or the relationships that we are in with both our men and our friends.

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

