The Dogs and Baby and why I am not worried

At lot of the women on the Pregnancy Boards post about worrying about their new Baby and their Pups. While this it totally valid concern, not trying to say it’s not at all, I am not overly worried about my Pups taking on a new Baby and here’s why.

I knew when I brought both of them home, Shadow in 2009 and Geordi in 2011, that they would be here when and if I had a Baby. Knowing this could very well be my future with them I raised them to better tolerate certain things that kids love to do to Dogs before knowing better.

I raised them both with tail tugs, ear pulls, taking toys and bones away from them, and putting my fingers in the food bowls while they are eating. I also trained them that “ow” was a Stop and Walk Away word when playing.

Shadow’s not a big mouthy player to begin with but she is super careful with her mouth around kids. I have had a two year old hand feed her dinner, kibble by kibble, and Shadow used her tongue get the kibbles out of her fingers and not her teeth. I’m sure she will love it when Baby learns to toss things so she can have a constant fetch partner. Geordi is a slightly different story.

Geordie LOVES kids! He is willing to risk the insult of being leashed or carried at the Dog Park just to go say to a kid. He even self monitors and if he feels he can’t be nice up close to them he will stand several feet from them and vibrate! Yes, he can be a little mouth. However, if we say “ow” he will stop, lick the spot, look sad pathetic, and walk away. He also will go find a toy to put in his mouth and come back to you with it to finish playing too.

Don’t think that I am not at all worried, not even a smidgen, worried about them and Baby. I am worried. I am female and am who I am so yes, a little worried. I have done what I can to prep them for this next life event, but until you ask any thing to perform that task you won’t know how they will perform. The Pups will always be my Canine Kids and Shadow is becoming an older sister and Geordi is becoming the middle child. But they will always be my Babies.

Currently, the bets are that Geordi will take to Baby like a lost little dog finding it’s soulmate. Shadow is to much of a Mommy’s dog. Oh, she will love and protect Baby but won’t be Baby’s dog. I do plan on getting the Baby room done and letting them explore it, have them sniff and explore the stroller, and hoping to send Hubby home with a Baby blanket from the hospital to sniff. I don’t plan on keeping them separated from Baby, monitored yes, but separated no. They need to learn Baby and Baby learn them to make next decades easier on all of us.

Enjoy!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

2 Responses to The Dogs and Baby and why I am not worried

  1. Interesting read. When I was pregnant with my first child, Sara I used a book called Tell Your Dog You’re Pregnant: An essential guide for dog owners who are expecting a baby. It was really helpful and came with a baby sounds and toy noises. Max (my fur child!) took some time to get used to the sounds but the book helped on how to do it. It gave me advice on what changes will occur and how to prepare my Max for them. It also talked about the causes for aggression and why it might occur and how to avoid it. It is written by a vet behaviorist too so it cover health issues as well – I got it from http://www.babyandpet.com.au or Amazon too i guess – mayb that will help someone else!

  2. Pingback: The Pups and Baby | Life Laughter Everything

What do you think?

