Prime Pantry vs Freddies

So because I am weird I did a quick cost comparison on Amazon Prime Pantry vs my local go to store of Fred Meyers. It was interesting what I found.

The basics:
I went looked at the exact same items down to the count per box and ounces of all the products I compared. I also, only looked at products that I would actually buy either way. I also, for the sake of fairness, removed some items from the original list simple due to not seeing them at Freddies. Here are the items I went looking for:

6 ct Luna Bar Coconut
50z All Laundry detergent (unscented)
16z Baking Soda
48z Crisco (plain)
10 ct Carnation Breakfast
18z Life Cereal
11z Nacho Doritos
12z Sue Bee Honey

A couple things to keep in mind is that for each Amazon Prime Panty box you fill (full or otherwise) you will pay $5.99. Due to the fact that I currently drive a hybrid car and distance I add a $1 to my Fred Meyer cost simple for gas.

The Outcome:

Item Amazon Freddies
Luna Bar 5.78 5.49
All Laundry Soap 5.19 4.69
Baking Soda 0.78 0.89
Crisco 4.58 5.49
Carnation Breakfast 4.84 5.29
Life Creal 3 3.48
Nacho Doritos 2.88 3.29
Sue Bee Honey 5.69 5.79
Shipping/gas 5.99 1
Total: 38.73 35.41
Difference: 3.32

Freddies was cheaper! I do believe that the $5.99 shipping played a large role in this difference. Also, Prime Pantry doesn’t have every house item as an eligible product. Sadly, I’m kind of picky on some brands and sizing of item (laundry detergent, creel, chips mainly). Yes, there are items that are less expensive on Prime Pantry (most to them really) but you also have to take into account a couple things.

1) Super limited coupons. Yes, Amazon does have a coupon site but you can’t use manufacture or club/card discounts on any of the items.

2) You have to wait for the package to arrive once you’ve ordered it. I’m not that good. I typically use it all up before buying the next bottle to replace it with.

3) Fuel discounts! So Hubby drives a diesel truck with a very large tank size. So yes, those penny’s you get back for fuel using the Fred Meyer club card do matter to my household. Amazon doesn’t have an offer like this.

All in all, I’ll stick with Fred Meyer as my vendor.

Enjoy!

 

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

