Gold Star

I got the strangest compliment at the dog park the other day.

First off we go to an unfenced off leash dog-park and both dogs have never given me any issues or reason not to take to them, so we continue to go. The other day Geordi le Beagle was off doing his own thing a good distance from me. No big deal till he decided to start following another dog. I was waiting for my dog park friend and walking buddy to arrive so I didn’t follow after him like I usually do. I typically allow the dogs to dictate where and how fast we walk. Geordi is starting to get a little farther and farther from me so I tell him to “come back this way”. This is not a formal command and we both know it but, sometimes it works to just get him to start sniffing in a new and closer direction. This time though he looks up, looks at me, and decides to keep going. I give him a formal “Geordi come” command and he does just that. Mean while another dog park regular has walked past me on her way to throw away her poop bag. As Geordi is hauling butt back to me I am encouraging him; saying things like good boy, keep coming, positive things. The other lady stops and says “If I had a gold star I would give it to you. More people need to reward a come like that, even if it is the second or third time called.” I just smiled and said thank you.

The moral of the story: Reward the obeyed command every time! If you want to discipline a bad come go to them! With my two I can count (yes the 1, 2, 3 method works great!) I very rarely every have to get past 2 and I only start down this road if I have given a formal command more than 3 times. When I get to 3 though I go pick them up and carry them away. They hate to be carried in public so it works great as a punishment!

Enjoy!!

Also, fall is only 38 days away!!!!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

