I Love Books!

I Love Books!! It’s not so much the reading, because I consume 70% of the books I read via audiobooks, but the characters in the books at the story lines that evolve from it.  I love audiobooks because they allow me to do other things while I consume the book. While it is playing I typically do just boring chores as laundry, wash the dishes, cook dinner, love on the dogs, drive, and every once in a while I will play computer games 😀

Most recently I finally got to checkout the new Mercy book “Frost Burn” by Patricia Briggs. She writes about werewolves, “walkers”, vampires, and magic… all set in modern-day Kennewick WA. Patricia writes humor, love, and emotion into her books. She also has Lauilie King read her stories (she also reads the last several books of the Stephanie Plum series) and I like how each character has their own voice. Notice how I have just listed to series in one paragraph? I love series!

I was thinking about it and I have read very few books that weren’t part of a series or related to a series. The few books that I have read that didn’t have to do with a series are….I’m having problems coming up with some!! I love series those. You get to know the characters and who they are. If you are like me, an emotional reader, you end up crying or laughing with the characters.  It makes the nail biting moments even better because you have that emotional involvement with them.

The series that I love the most and revisit often are:

1) Stephanie Plum by Janet Evanovich
2) Mercedes Thompson by Patricia Briggs. Her Alpha-Omega series is okay.
3) Amelia Peabody-Emerson by Elizabeth Peters
4) The Oregon Files by Clive Cussler (I like all his books but love this series the most)
5) The first few books of Anita Blake by Laurell K Hamilton. They just seem to get darker and darker after the first 4 or so.
6) The Lioness, Beka Cooper, and Protector of the Small series by Tamora Pierce (don’t judge! They may be young adult books but I like the story line)

See the trend yet? I don’t read “serious” books. I don’t like them. It has nothing to do with the authors who write those types of books or anything else like that. It just simple has to do with the fact that I live in the real world where the “serious” books take place and I don’t want to read about it. I like fantasy! I like what could be, and vampires aren’t a real possibility, but terrorist attacks, epidemics, assassination, those are all possible and I don’t want to read about it.  Hubby is the opposite. He loves his Tom Clancy books; he also reads the older sci-fi (Orson Scott Card, ect) books. But, he doesn’t like fantasy books. Which makes for a weird-looking book-case when we place all our books side by side 🙂

Finding new books though can be a challenge though. My favorite places to find new book recommendations is:

GoodReads– You can add all the books you have read or want to read and it will give you recommendations based on that. You can also go through their lists to see what are rated as best in a given genre.

What Should I read next– You type in the author or the book title and it will give you recommendations based off of that one input. It does tend to pick books out the middle of series though so be aware of that.

Which Book– You can input what kind of book you are looking for on a sliding scale in several areas (happy vs sad, funny vs serious, ect) and it will give you recommendations on based on those inputs.

Your Next Book– You input and author or title and if gives an interactive graph on books that are similar to it. The nice thing is that you can click on a book that is recommended and it will show you recommendations based off of that book.

Feel free to share your favorite Book(s)/Series

Enjoy!!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

