Avocados

You ever have that one food item that you know is good for you and your should eat more of it, but can’t find a way to enjoy it? For me that is Avocados. I know it is very healthy and good for you it. It helps stabilize blood sugar, helps protect yours eyes from age related degeneration, contains antioxidants, contains tons of fiber (makes you feel fuller longer), and more potassium than a banana (love those too). See, good for you! But the texture is something else! Under-ripe and it is stiff and kind of bland. Overripe and it’s what I image baby food tastes like; in terms of texture. Also, I think in general it’s kind of taste less. I like tasty food, so to eat this healthy fruit I have to spice it up. Here are a few ways that I have found to eat it that are pretty easy and fun.

Double Berry Smoothie
Is exactly how it sounds with one variation, it has a whole avocado in it. The recipe is just your basic berry smoothie recipe. handful of Berry 1 (I used raspberry) and a handful Berry 2 (I used strawberries). Add a half or whole banana (I used half and eat the other half), toss in your avocado and you are done! I though add some flax-seed, coconut milk, and a little agave syrup to it. Very yummy!

Double Berry Smoothie

Oil and Lime juice
Another easy recipe that doesn’t require much work. Take you avocado slice in half and pit it. Next take a good quality olive oil and drizzle over the top, season with a little coarse salt and pepper, and a squirt of  lime juice and enjoy!! This one is best with an avocado that isn’t verging on being over ripe.

Avocado with Olive oil and lime juice

Poached eggs and Avocado
This is really yummy!! All you need to do is a poach a couple of eggs (the hard part!), take two slices of tomato, a couple of basil leaves (I used large ones), a few slices a firm but not under-ripe avocado, and stack them on top of each other. Yummy and healthy!!

Poached Eggs with Avocado

Baked Avocado with Egg and Cheese
Mine didn’t 100% turn out like hers. Mine took more then 20 minutes to bake and i was running short on time so I popped it in the microwave to finish baking (over cooked my egg while I was at it 😦 ). I am not giving up on this one and might just have to adapt it to my microwave! Another easy breakfast  recipe to along with the poached eggs.

Baked Avocado with Egg

“Bread” substitute-
I also like using it as my “bread” substitute for things like chicken salad and taco salad. It’s easy and doesn’t get soggy while waiting to be consumed at lunch.

Use it as your salad bowl

There are a few other ways to eat them that I am playing with before I share them with you. I don’t like to recommend less than good food 😀

How do you eat your avocados??

Enjoy!!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

