Pintrest fails

I love laughing my way through pinterest fails! Because I can I am going to point out at least where I see they went wrong.

Tangled Cake

Pinterest Cake fail

Things they did wrong:

1) That decorating job is ALL (okay maybe closer to 90%) Fondant and/or Gum Paste. You will NOT (to my knowledge at least) get the same results with plain old frosting.

2) For frosting was NOT stiff enough. To get nice stiff up and down grass you need STIFF frosting. This means you should be able to stand a knife in your frosting and it won’t flop over.

Cookie Monster Cupcakes

This is what it turned out for this person:

Things they did wrong:

Either they 1) Didn’t cool the cupcakes COMPLETELY (this means 12 hours at least), 2) The frosting wasn’t stiff enough, or 3) both of the above

Caramels

I personally love making Caramels! They are though very time and attention intensive. If you don’t constantly stir them they will not come out at all! They will easily burn, add to much vanilla and it won’t taste great, and if you leave out any of the liquids it will be hard as a rock! I however don’t make them with corn syrup. Yes, corn syrup will make them last longer on the shelf. I don’t use it because I’m not into it as a product. It isn’t a natural product and it isn’t useful in any other cooking that I do. So I do it the old fashioned way with cream and butter. Here is my recipe that I use:

1 1/2 Sugar
1 cup Heavy Cream
3/4 stick  Unsalted Butter
1 teaspoon Vanilla *More or less depending on quality of vanilla*
1/2 tsp salt *Omit if you used salted butter*

  1. Line 8×8 pan with tinfoil. Butter tinfoil and set aside.
  2. Cook sugar in a 2 1/2- to 3-quart heavy saucepan over moderate heat, undisturbed, until it begins to melt.
  3. Continue to cook, stirring occasionally, until sugar is melted to a deep golden caramel.
  4. Tilt pan and carefully pour in cream (caramel will harden and steam vigorously).
  5. Cook over moderately low heat, stirring, until caramel is dissolved.
  6.  Remove from heat and stir in butter, vanilla and salt.
  7. Pour into pan and let cool at room temperature.

General ircks with the Pinterest fails I see:

1) Don’t complain about it failing if you don’t do it exactly like the recipe. Sorry people but Twizzlers is not a substitue for pipe cleaners and sticks is not a substitute for rebar.

2) The nice pretty pretty pictures you see are probable the results of lots of practise at a recipe or craft. So don’t get so upset when it fails on your first try.

3) Don’t take on recipes above your skill level. Cakepops are pretty inventise work! I have done them and it took several failures before I finally got them somewhat nice 🙂 Then you add complex decorations like the Chicks and it gets even harder.

4) Don’t rush a new recipe. If you have never done it before take the time to read the recipe completely before even starting and make sure you have all the right tools and ingredients to make the recipe.

That is my 10 cents on the issue.

Enjoy!!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

