Garden Update!

My garden is doing amazing!! It isn’t prefect, but this is my first year with it. Which is my excuse for the mistakes that I made it.

The biggest mistake I made was not allowing enough space for some plants 🙂

Broccoli gets huge!!! At least mine got huge. After several rounds of thinning I still have many plants left in that area. Also, the seedlings I started went from tiny little heads (smaller then my fist) to flowered over night while the ones I purchased make more grocery sized heads. Anyone else have that probelm?

Make sure to tie up your tomatoes often as they grow! If not you get this giant mess that is a little frustrating to have to tie up later. Also, Roma tomato plan doesn’t get that big while my Dorthy tomate plant is huge!Dorothy Tomato Also, at least for me, my stationary sprinkler doesn’t work well for watering my tomoatoes. I moved it around each time trying to equlally water the garden and still I ended up with blossom root. I picked those off, sprinkled calcium pellets over the soil, and watered each plant for 5 minutes a piece with just the hose placed directly on them. Let hope that helps. Next year I think I might try placing a punctured water bottle right next to the plant for direct root watering.

When they say giant pumpkin they mean giant pumpkin. Pumpkin LeafHere is just a photo of a leaf compared to my hand  alone and the flowers are just huge! I am pretty excited to see what I get out off this plant 🙂 I also have French Pumpkins planted and really excited to see if those flourish in our pretty NW. Typically these are grown in more southern regions. Also, Pumpkins need LOTS of space! Mine are planted all wrong and next year I won’t be making this mistake again.

Corn stalks have lots of ears of corn. I have about 12 stalks or so planted and I am going to be rolling in corn with about 24 or more ears in total! Good thing it freezes pretty well 🙂

I also have a couple container plants on my deck. One of which is a mint plant. Mint needs lots of root space! I moved it from a window sized planting box to a large round container and already it has started to grow in height! I also have a basil plant that I am trying so hard to keep a live and bushy. I tried last year and failed so I am trying again this year. Then there is my little lime tree. When I say little I mean little, it’s only about 18 inches or so high, and I am hoping that it will produce fruit next year *fingers crossed*

I love my little garden and I am so hoping to expand next year so I can uncrowed some of the beds. I also think I am going to stick to buying my seedlings from a local nursery vs trying to start them from seed.

How is your garden doing?

Enjoy!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

