Society and Beauty

My apologies dear readers, right now I am on a philosophical bender. I promise to post another craft post soon! Today it is Beauty and Societies view on it.

Before I rant on about how society negative impacts on beauty and that let me say this: Yes, I do feel the pressures of society and how I look. Yes, I do own a body scale; and a kitchen one. Yes, I have been “fat” and yes, I am “skinny”. Yes, I still eat sugary, carb loaded yummy foods. Yes, I do care about my body.

However, societies fascination with stick thin bodies is… insulting. Not sure if that is the best word for it but that’s the one that comes to mind today. The fact that my worth, to most people on first meeting me, is based on my jean size, bust size, and waist size is the most insulting part!

In today’s standards of gorgeous do I qualify? Hell NO! Go Google that term and look under the images tab. What did you get? What mine returned was Blonde, Big bobbed, Skinny body, Loads of makeup girls. So not me! Make up! I laugh so hard. Yes, I own makeup and yes I do wear the Full get up (foundation, eye shadow, blush, mascara, lipstick, ect) when I have to. Typically, if I wear any at all, I wear eye shadow, mascara, and maybe lip gloss; every once in a while I will put lipstick on. My hair isn’t blonde and won’t ever be, my bust size is prefect for my build, and my waist size still gives me an hourglass look. I guess you could say I have more Classic looks then modern. With all that said I think I’m pretty and my Hubby thinks I’m pretty. My Hubby also thinks I am pain in the ass and pretty smart too.

The worst part about all this though is that I have encountered MD’s and dietitians that are all about small bodies. Yes, I recognize that a smaller body causes less stress on the heart and lowers the risk for many many things, but what about self-esteem and body acceptance? If all we ever tell people is you have to be skinny to be acceptable to all, people and MD’s and the like, what are we sacrificing? I’m sure there is an Medical professional out there that realizes this but I haven’t met them; thank goodness because it means I’m healthy. But could they speak up please!! Every time you tell someone something negative about themselves, or their dreams, you damage their self-esteem and outlook on who they are and what they are capable of. In the end this behavior only damages society.

Society needs to start recognizing that bodies has nothing to do with someones worth. Someones worth comes from their heart, soul, and brain. Also men, if you want ME to be a runway model then YOU need to a Chippendales dancer. Otherwise, shut up!

Enjoy!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

