Stove Top Popcorn

The other day my Hubby decided he wanted popcorn and M&M’s for dinner. I know that isn’t a great meal but the 4 of us (the dogs LOVE popcorn) have done it several times and always includes a movie. My Hubby swears by microwave popcorn; especially the movie butter type. Okay, I will admit that it tastes great! It’s the price that makes me cringe; $4 or so for 3 bags! When Costco has the coupon for it, and my Hubby sees it, we end up buying it there which is no big deal. However, I like making it on the stove top, I think it is pretty easy. Sure, it requires your full attention at times but I get less wasted (un-popped kernels) then I do in the bags.  Yes, at one point in time we actually compared it 🙂 I also get to control the ingredients in it!

My popcorn recipe is like this:

  • Popcorn kernels, I use the plain old store brand kernels
  • Coconut Oil, it’s pretty flavorless in the quantities I use
  • Butter, I use salted butter and you can add more salt if you think it needs more

1) Take a nice big pan and set to medium high. I want a BIG pan or pot. Remember popcorn kernels TRIPLE in size when they pop

2) You need about… 2 or 3… tablespoon of oil to your hot pan. FYI if your coconut oil lid jams run it under HOT water for a minute or two and you will be able to open it.

3) Toss a kernel or two into the pan and when they pop the pan is ready.

4) This is where some people do it a little differently than others. I add the rest of my popcorn kernels, move my pan off the heat, count to 30, and then put it back on the stove. This helps the popcorn kernels come to the same temp and pop closer together. Other people add the kernels and kind of wait for them. Remember to toss your kernels around a couple of times to keep them and the popcorn from burning.

5) Melt butter, add popcorn to bowl, drizzle with melted butter, and a handful of Peanut Butter M&M’s (or not, up to you), and enjoy!!

It really is pretty simple and fairly quick. Sure it’s not as quick at the microwave but it is cheaper!

Enjoy!!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

