Bulk Food buying!

I love to buy food in bulk; my poor stand alone freezer bares testimony to it. When I buy in bulk I typically purchase from a few select places.

These places are 1) Costco, 2) Zaycon Foods, and 3 ) Bountiful Basket. When I do buy food in bulk it is things that I know (or have a really good guess at) will freeze then unfreeze well and meats. Let me talk about each one on its own and what I typically purchase from there; and any drawbacks I have encountered.

1) Costco! I love this place! I also hate this place because it take a strong will and tunnel vision to walk out of there without spending $100+ each time. Typically I purchase milk there. Most recently for 2 gallons (Hubby is a milk chugger) I have paid $4.60 or so; that is about $2.30 a gallon; Freddies or the local stores near by where a single gallon cost me $2.70+. I was buying the half gallons with a Freddies coupon when they had them at $1 a piece ($4 for 2 gallons) then the price jumped to $5 for 2 gallons with the coupon! I also buy some meats from them; typically beef, lamb, and pork. Yes, when you buy meat from them you get a large quantity of it all at the same time. That is where my handy food saver comes into action and I just slice the portions I want and vacuum seal. This gives me control over the size my meat portions and the thickness of my cuts. Love it! I also tend to by my canned goods there. I buy my tomato products, kidney/black beans, corn, ect from there. I have this nice metal can rack that they fit into. There are few other things that I sometimes get (paper towels, kleenex, ect) from Costco but not all the time. Recap: Milk and Meat.

2) Zaycon foods! I love their prices! $3.49/lb of 91/7 ground beef! Not even Costco can beat that price. They also have selling events for things like ribs ($2.99/lb), salmon, chicken breasts ($1.89/lb), berries, bacon, and other things. The cons to this place is 1) They don’t have these items at all times. They only have them at certain times so it is buy then or miss out kind of deal. 2) You have to go pick the items from the drop point and can end up sitting in line for a while. 3) You may have to wait a month or two after purchasing to get your items. 4) It isn’t available everywhere. But I still like them and their prices. Plus, the quality of the meat is good.

3) Bountiful Basket! I have talked about this program before but I didn’t expect you to see it on this list. They sometimes sell items in bulk packaging. Most recently I bought a case (~20 lbs) of broccoli from them for a grand price of $0.77/lb!!! That is cheaper then my local stores have ever had it!! Plus, it freezes pretty well 🙂 They also have other things that they offer in bulk (it does vary week to week) but I have seen cases of strawberries, oranges, and apples to just name a few. The only catch is that you still have to purchase the regular box to be able to purchase the cases.

And those are places I buy in bulk from; on a regular basis at least.

Enjoy!!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

