Most Useful Dog command

I actually have 2 commands that I love the most. They aren’t any of the regulars like sit, down, ect but they are Leave it and Ignore. To you they might sound like the same thing; to use they are very different commands.

When Shadow and I did our Delta Society training we had to pass two exercises 1) was walking past another dog with minimal response and 2) was ignoring any item (including food).

When we went in we already knew a version of Leave it. In our version they could look at it and eventually get said item. Both dogs know this version but, Shadow learned a new version. The new version is still the same concept, she doesn’t get to pick it up and we try for not even smelling it. The difference is that she won’t ever get the item off the floor! This means she can look and drool all she wants but she isn’t ever going to get it. With using this version and reinforcing and making it the only version we use I can take her to the beach and she will ignore dead seagull bodies without any problems.

The other command is Ignore. I love this command! I use it when out walking or running with Shadow. I’ve tried to teach this to Geordi but his brain is still in puppy mode so it’s proving more difficult than with Shadow. What this command allows me to do is go past another dog, person, cat, ect without her getting distracted by said thing. Typically she doesn’t even turn her head when we pass by if the distraction comes straight at us; meeting another dog walker on the road. If it comes from either side she will look but keep going.

Both of these commands have kept us from many potentially stressful encounters!

Do you have any commands that you love?

Enjoy!

P.S. I know that a lot of places like Petco and Petsmart will help you with leave it so go to them to learn it. As for Ignore, we taught ourselves that one and honestly I have no idea how!

 

 

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

