Companion Planting

If you are a regular then you know that I have put in raised garden beds recently. If not please feel free to go read through those posts about the raised beds and the assembly involved in them.

I said that I planted broccoli, garlic, strawberries, lettuce, raspberries, onions, and have plans of planting tomatoes and corn. What I didn’t say was how I planted them. Yes, I dug a hole , dropped them in, and buried the roots again and moved on. What I really mean is the location and the plants that ended up in the same beds together. This year I am planting according to the theory of companion planting.

Companion planting, for those of you who have never heard of it, is the theory that certain plants are beneficial in someway to other plants. I am calling it a theory because I have never tried it. With a little research and some paper (poor trees) I got my layout figured out. Also, FYI I recycle my paper. I typically use both sides of the paper and I keep the paper off my daily Maxine calendar for scrap notes and quick calculations or scribbling easy recipes onto. Only then do I place my paper in the recycle bin outside. Now back to the subject on hand; what did I find out?

I found out that the information if pretty consistent across the internet; yeah! I also found out that most of the information is also presented in nice pictograms; double yeah! I will put it in words and then pictures for you:

Broccoli-
Goes with:  Rosemary and Garlic    Does NOT go with: Tomatoes, Beans, and Peppers

Lettuce-
Goes with: Strawberries, Beans, and Cucumbers   Does NOT go with: Celery or Parsley

Corn-
Goes with: Squash and Pumpkins    Does NOT go with: Tomato

Peppers-
Goes with: Tomatoes, Basil, and Onion  Does NOT go with: Beans, Kale, and Cabbage family

Tomatoes-
Goes with: Basil, Oregano, and Peppers   Does NOT go with: Potatoes, Fennel, and Cabbage family

Those are just the basic ones that I looked at. There are several  others out there.

Here is the list, plus some, for you to enjoy. Now, I could make my own pretty pictogram for you but why reinvent the wheel? Instead here are the links to the pictograms that I found most helpful in my search.

Companion Planting Chart 1— This is my go to chart!!

Companion Planting Chart 2— This is a good chart also.

Enjoy and happy planting!!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

