Bountiful Basket 2

We are going to make it this time!! Last one was a complete flop and we didn’t do very well eating through it. I am determined to make it this time!!  It may not always be the best deal depeding on where you live and what local prices are, but I like the fact that I get to go one place and pick up yummy food. Plus, you never know what you are going to get in the box which is always fun; my Hubby hates that part.

This week I splurged and spent $42.50 and purchased both the Box, 8 lbs of Strawberries, and the Hostess Pack. Between the strawberries I bought and the other two items I ended up with 10 lbs of strawberries! I am not complaining at all; I love strawberries. I just didn’t expect that many when it was all said and done.  Most of the strawberries are very ripe and juice, but a few could have stayed on the vines a while longer.

 

All the baskets combined (Strawberries, Box, and Hostess Pack)

All the baskets combined (Strawberries, Box, and Hostess Pack)

In total I got:

  • Two Pineapples (1 of which I got for volunteering)
  • The strawberries (Might not have been the best buy given Costco prices right now)
  • 4 roman tomatoes
  • 4 giant-sized potatoes
  • a package of grape tomatoes
  • 3 big apples
  • 6 ripe bananas (not yet banana bread ripe but definitely eat soon ripe)
  • 2 things of celery
  • 2 little bags of radishes
  • dill and rosemary herbs
  • asparagus (tiny little stalks 😦 )
  • 5 lb bag of red potatoes
  • 4 pears (very yummy)
  • 2 lemons

I had a great time volunteering

With it so far I have made a Rosemary Lemon Drop Martini and Vegan friendly Strawberry Angle Food Cakes

Enjoy!!

Rosemary Lemon Drop Martini

Rosemary Lemon Drop Martini

  • 2 oz cold Vodka (I put my Vodka in the freezer)
  • 1 oz Fresh Lemon Juice (It does make a difference but, in a pinch the bottled stuff works too)
  • 1 tsp sugar, plus some for rimming the glass
  • 2 sprigs Rosemary
  • A few ice cubes
  • Shaker

Slice a thin round off the lemon and set a side. Juice lemon into shaker. Muddle the vodka, lemon juice, sugar, and rosemary together.

Run the thin round of lemon around the edge of your glass then twirl edge of glass through sugar.

Add ice to shaker and shake to finish dissolving sugar.

Pour into glass, garnish with lemon round and sprig of rosemary if desired.

 

Vegan Angle Food Cakes with Strawberries

  • 1 3/4 cup cake flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1.5 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 tbs vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1.5 tsp distilled white vinegar (cider vinegar would work also)

Pre Heat over to 350 degrees.

Line muffin pan with cupcake liners

Whisk together dry ingredients

Stir in wet ingredients until most lumps are gone

Pour into muffin tins (I did little less than 1/4 cup in each slot and it made about 16 cupcakes without any over flow) and bake for 15-20 minutes till toothpick comes out clean. (They won’t be brown on top so use the toothpick!)

For the strawberries cut them into larger chunks, sprinkle with a little sugar, and then use a pastry cutter and cut them up a little more.

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

