Raised Flower Bed Final Step

With the weed block down and the boxes placed, all that was left was the dirt . I went through a local company that on top of selling dirt also sells bark, gravel, and rocks. I purchased their garden soil mix and had it delivered; don’t have a truck. To get the dirt delivered I had to order a minimum of 2 yards, way more then I needed, and still ended up pay for delivery. In total it cost me $100. Next time I am going to look at renting a truck from a car rental company for a day. Now that I had the dirt I could get started on filling the boxes.

Filling the boxes took me a few hours and lots of trips to the dirt pile. Unfortunately, due to the way the house sits I couldn’t get me soil very close to my garden. I didn’t count the number of trips I made back and forth but, eventually I was done and the boxes were filled. I do know for a fact, thanks to math, that it took almost a yard to fill all the boxes.

With the boxes filled I transplanted my seedlings. These seedlings need transplanting or something way sooner then when I transplanted them so not all the seedlings made it. I actually lost all my corn and onion seedlings before they even made it outside. I think I may have drowned them accidentally 😦 My broccoli, pumpkins (two types), and lettuce seedlings made it outside. I then purchased strawberries, onions, garlic, and lettuce. Mine just didn’t look like they were going to make it.Garden Beds Complete

It was a very productive weekend! Yes, I did it all in one weekend and no my body wasn’t that sore when I was done; which was kind of disappointing. The following weekend I went and scrapped out 1/2 to 3/4 of a yard of clay out of the front flower bed. I laid out some more weed block paper, add some pretty flowers to it, and called it good. Front Flower bedWhile I was at it I found out why I could never win the battle with the weeds there. Turns out the weeds roots went down deeper then 3 inches. After all that I STILL have soil left over! I have no idea what do with it now and I also have that clay to deal with too! Oh well.

Two labor intensive garden projects in two weekends get you your weekend warrior badge right?

Enjoy!!

P.S. I have add some photos to Step 1 and Step 2.

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

