Shadow art Craft

This is probable one of my favorite forms of art to make. I wouldn’t say that it is simple, but it can be. I don ‘t know where I picked this particular art form up from but I love playing with it.

What you will need:

  • Chalk, I use acrylic chalk you can probable use oil based also
  • Paint
  • Art sealer, comes in a spray can
  • Template
  • Paper towel, something to smudge large areas with
  • Optional- spray paint

Steps:

  1. Find a place to work at. Once you have found that place lay some newspaper down. The acrylic chalks I work with WILL stain what ever surface they touch.
  2. Color away! Take your chalks and color over the paper with them. I tend to do rainbows or coordinating colors with mine. you can do whatever it is you want.

    The canvas after the colors have been smudged.

    The canvas after the colors have been smudged.

  3. Once you are satisfied with your color placement, take and smudge your colors together. I don’t recommend rubbing from darks to lights. I tend to lose my lighter colors to the darker ones.
  4. Once you are satisfied with your smudging and mixing of colors take your sealer to a well ventilated area and spray down. This will 1) make your colors POP and 2) make them permanete. Once the sealer is dried, I give it 24 hours before the next step typically, you will be able to touch the board without getting the chalk on you.
  5. Cut out your design. Mine tend to get a little complicated but you can make it as something simple as a heart. It is all upto you and your imagination.
  6. This is where it can get tricky and time
  7. consuming! You need to decide what color is
  8. going to be your main color. I have done it where the paint, typically black (it’s my favorite contrast color), is the main color, and where my chalk is the main color. It’s pretty if you choose black as the main color. You simple tack down your design and paint over top of it and the canvas. Once it has all dried you gentle remove the template and you are done! If you choose to have the chalk as the main color you will have to draw the outline of your templet onto your canvas and then paint in the outline; time consuming depending on detail of your template.
  9. Let dry and enjoy!

Shadow Butterflies

Enjoy!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

