Dog Food

Right now everyone is crazy about natural dog food. It’s suppose to be healthier, more digestible  ect. It is also much more expensive!!

I feed my two Fur-kids Nutra Nuggets. I use to by it at Costco till my local Fred Meyer started selling it; and it’s cheaper there too. At Costco it’s …… but at Fred Meyer it’s only …… I have looked at other foods and I am going to tell you what I have found. When looking at the dog foods I kept a few needs in mind. 1) High protein and High Fat *Shadow needs this!! And it doesn’t hurt Geordi* 2) Omega fats!  *Geordi needs this!! During summer he gets an additional 300 mg of Omega 3 from a fish pill a day due to allergies; it also doesn’t hurt Shadow.*

Let me start with my control (Nutra Nuggets Lam and Rice):

  • $28 for 40 lbs
  • 1-1/2 to 2 cups for a dog weighting 20-30 lbs
  • 25% Protein
  • 15% Crude Fat
  • 2.4% Omega 6
  • .4% Omega 3
  • Also has vitamin E, A, B12, and D. *even though it doesn’t show up on the guarantee panel, it is all listed in the ingredients. *
  • It has 39 ingredients

Next let us look at Blue Buffalo Lamb and Rice:

  • $53 for 30 lbs
  • 1-3/4 to 2-1/2 cups for a dog weighting 26-40 lbs
  • 22% Protein
  • 12% Fat
  • 3.0% Omega 6
  • .9% Omega 6
  • Also has vitamin B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, B7, B9, B12, C, D, and E. *even though it doesn’t show up on the guarantee panel, it is all listed in the ingredients. *
  • It has 57 ingredients. Yes, it has all the additional B vitamins but even with those gone you are still looking at more ingredients. Those ingredients are vegetables mostly.

All right, Solid Gold Hund-n-Flocken Adult:

  • $49.39 for a 28.5 pound bag,
  • 367 cal./cup. Feeding recommendations not on their site. 
  • 22% Protein
  • 10% Fat
  • No Omega’s on the analysis
  • Also has Vitamin E, A, D, and B12. *even though it doesn’t show up on the guarantee panel, it is all listed in the ingredients. *
  • 48 ingredients

Next comes Natural Balance L.I.D Lamb Meal & Brown Rice:

  • $51 for 28 lbs
  • 3 to 4-2/3 cups for dogs weighting 20-30 lbs, 340 cal./cup
  • 21% Protien
  • 12% Fat
  • 1.7% Omega 6
  • .3% Omega 3
  • Has vitamin A, E,  B12, D, B2, B6, and B1.  *even though it doesn’t show up on the guarantee panel, it is all listed in the ingredients. *
  • 36 ingredients
  • *This one is a limited ingredient dog food. However, it is the only one with just Lamb and Rice.*

Then we go to, Purina Pro Plan- Focus Small bites Lamb and Rice Formula for all life stages:

  • $39 for 35 lbs
  • 1-1/2 to 2 cups for dogs weighting 21-35 lbs, 444 cal/cup
  • 26% Protein
  • 16% Fat
  • 15,000 IU/kg Vitamin A
  • 460 IU/kg Vitamin E
  • On top of A and E it also has vitamin C, B12, D, K
  • 37 ingredients

And for the last one that I am going to type out is, Life’s Abundance Premium Health Food:

  • $70.147 for 40 lbs, not including shipping 
  • 1 to 1-1/2 cups for dogs weighting 20-30 lbs; 452 cal./cup
  • 26% Protein
  • 16% Fat
  • 19,000 IU/kg Vitamin A
  • 200 IU/kg Vitamin E
  • 0.4% Omega 3
  • 2.445% Omega 6
  • On top of vitamin A and E, it has D, and B12
  • 60 ingredients

These are just a few of the brands that I have personally looked at as potential new foods. None of them passed my requirements. For for some reason I need to up the protein or fat in my dogs diets I can simple buy the same brand but the Performance bag (26% Protein, 18% Fat) or even higher to the Professional bag (30% Protein, 20%Fat).

I am not trying to degrade these foods at all! I am just simply providing side by side comparisons.

UPDATE 6/15/2013Here is a great link to a website that calculates the needs of your dog based on age, weight, and activity level. If you provide it the information of the dog food you use (Weight of dog food bag, kCal/cup and kg, price) it will calculate out the days the bag will last you, the price per cup, and the price per day. I thought it was interesting and wanted to share 🙂

Enjoy!!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

