My Constant Companion

Well, she’s more like my semi-constant companion.

So tiny!

So tiny!

Shadow was only 8 weeks old and 3 pounds when my Hubby went and picker her up. I found her on an amazing site called petfinder.com. I was actually siting in a very boring lecture when I found her. This was the week of Thanksgiving 2009 and I just fell in love with her. Unfortanetly due to work and school I couldn’t drive the hour away to pick her up. I had resined my self, after begging my Hubby (then fiance)

to go get her for me, to that fact that I probable wouldn’t be able to rescue her at all. The Wednesday before Thanksgiving my Hubby called and asked where exactly she was. He went and picked her up for me and brought her home! Our current dog at the time was ~14 years old and not happy about sharing the house with a noise puppy. She did eventually come to terms with Shadow and they played in their own way.

Some how between the commuting to school (an hour drive one way and taking 16 science credits) and working (about 15 hours a week) I managed to train her. It was a little rough to start out with. There is a deffiante difference between a puppy that was raised in home with litter mates and parents (Geordi)

Such a mellow soul, usually

Such a mellow soul, usually

and a puppy raised in a pound (Shadow). Shadow had no idea what sleeping thru the night was, or for that fact what holding your bladder is. That caused for some very rough months as we tried to train her to sleep thru the night. She is a quick study and when it came to commands and basic training she caught on fast. She also learned at an early age (3 months) how to travel long distances; we went and saw family that was about 12 hours away in the car. She did great! We stopped every few hours for potty and leg stretches then continued on.

She is my companion though. She really came into my life when I need her to, and has been with me ever since. She loves to lay at my feet or

"Where we going today mom?"

“Where we going today mom?”

curl up on the sofa with me. On those nights that I can’t sleep she stays out of the bedroom with me. I would say she stays awake with me, but that would just be a lie.  She stays close to me in the house, typically, and is very responsive to me. If I don’t have her I have Geordi with me. Every once in a while it feels like they take turns “mommy sitting” me. It’s nice though to be able to reach down from one of my work spaces and rub some soft fuzzy ears. I can’t ever imagine life without a dog! I love my Spanador and my Beagle, and I hope to move forward in the Beagle world.

I really believe that no home is complete without a dog (or a cat) in it! They have so much to offer us! They practice the true meaning of unconditional love.

Enjoy!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

