Pintrest- No sew, No tie fleece blanket

Mmmm…. fleece blankets… I love them! They always keep me nice and warm and feel great to snuggle up against. My dogs also love them. More and more I seem to lose my blankets to them if I am not careful. You let Geordi curl up in the bottom of one, while the top in your lap, and you will soon find it all on the floor with him. To try and even the score I made him his own blanket.

Supplies:
2 pieces of fleece. Fabric yards needed depends on the size you want. If you want a finished blanket of 40 in. x 40 in. then you need to cut your fabric to 48 in x 48 inch. The extra inches are the fringe allowances.

A sharp pair of scissors. The fleece is pretty thick to start with and you will be cutting two layers of it.

A few pins to help hold the pieces together.

X-acto knife. This is optional. You can do all the cuts with your scissors but I found the x-acto knife simpler and quicker for the final steps.

Now that you have gathered all your supplies start the blanket like any other no sew blanket. If you haven’t done a no-sew blanket then do the following:

1) Cut your fabric to the desired dimensions. Don’t forget to add on the inches for the fringe!

2) Lay the two pieces of fleece on top of each other good sides facing out, bad sides facing together. Pin these together to make the cutting easier.

3) Cut out squares on all 4 corners. I cut out a 4 in. x 4 in. square on all sides. You can cut whatever size you want out. Keep in mind that the size you cut out will be the size of your fringe pieces. Since I cut out a 4 x 4 square my pieces were 4 inches long.

4) Cut your fringe pieces. If you want to be very exact with the process you can place the fabric on your rotary board and cut them into nice even pieces. I made this specifically for Geordi so I didn’t care if they were perfect. I did average between and 1 inch and 1.5 inches wide by about 4 inches deep.

Fringe and corner cuts

5) Now that you have the fringe cut for one side its time to make that second cut. There are two methods for this cut:

1) Fold the fringe back on its self and using your scissors cut thru both piece right at the base. Made the cut long enough so that pulling the two ends thru won’t be such a struggle. You don’t want the cut to long.
2) The method I used. Take the pieces in your hand and with the X-acto knife make a slit thru both fabrics. Again, making the cut long enough to work with but not to long.

Making slit with x-acto knife

6) Pull both ends of the fringe thru the slit you just made and pull it tight.

Backside of the fringe

Pull both ends thru the slit

7) Continue steps 4-6 will the blanket is done.

You now have a nice fleece blanket!

Finished Blanket

Enjoy!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

One Response to Pintrest- No sew, No tie fleece blanket

  1. Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Wonderful choice of colors!

What do you think?

