Pintrest Craft- Dog/Cat paw prints

Getting paw prints from your dog or cat is not as easy as it may seem. To get Geordi’s and Shadow’s paw prints was one of those events that I need 4 hands and some tranquilizer to do.

The supplies you will need are as follows:

1 towel
1 damp washcloth
Several pages of paper (I used sturdy craft paper)
A wide paint brush (Or two for multiple dogs)
Paint and paint dishes
Dog or Cat
Some patience and will to get the prints

Alternately you could probable do this with a stamp pad verses paint. I only had paint on hand when I tried this out.

The colors I picked were deep red and deep blue. I placed my colors in my paint dishes so that I didn’t have to do it after Shadow and Geordi were ready. Less chance of them running and cowering at that point.

Then I clipped the hair between the pads of their feet. Typically I keep this pad hair well clipped but I had slacked off a little about it. Once their pads were nicely exposed I wiped them to get rid of any loose dirt on them.

Once their paws were clean I selected the one I wanted. I used a front paw; you can use front or back. I placed my towel under them and positioned my pad of paper in close range of me. I dipped my paint brush into my paint and lightly coated it. You don’t want to much paint on your brush. If you use to much paint you won’t get a nice clean print.

With the paw painted I moved my pad up paper in front my puppy and gently coxed them into a three legged stand and placed their forth paw on the paper and gently rocked it to get a full print; think being finger printed. Voila! One puppy paw print!

Clean up is the hard part. If you let go they run off and you end up with colored paw prints around the house. Or in Shadow case on the bedding in her kennel where she escaped to. This is where the wet rag comes in to help with clean up.

Once I had the paw prints I wanted I printed out their names and birth dates on a piece of paper. Then I attached the prints to it and framed it.

May 2016 Update– So I tried it again with a stamp pad. Maybe I just can’t do stamp pads on their feet because it didn’t come out NEARLY dark enough to look good. I can do it fine with Miss Go Go but not the dogs. I guess if I ever do this again, I will stick with the paint and do it outside.

Enjoy!

The out come of puppy paw prints craft

The out come of puppy paw prints craft

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

3 Responses to Pintrest Craft- Dog/Cat paw prints

  1. I have though about donig that for some time, but I don’t know if my dog will cooperate. The idea is very nice.

  2. Greetings! I’ve been reading your website for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic job!

What do you think?

