Disney World- Planning and Reserving

Welcome to Step 2 of the Disney World process. Now that you have done your research its time to actually make your reservations. Sit down in a quiet place with your computer and/or phone and/or a binder. I use the binder method. I love the ability to take my plans with me anywhere. You are now ready to book it.

You can book your vacation through a travel agent, online at the Disney website, or by calling the Disney Cast Members themselves. For the actual reservation of our resort I went straight to Disney World reservation people. All the Cast Members I have talked to have been very nice people and I have never sat on hold for more then 10 minutes at any one time. I was able to book my entire reservation (resort, meal plan, park tickets) in less then 20 minutes. They have a couple payment options; pay in full or make payments. We paid in full, next time I think we will make payments. Yes, we WILL be going back to the World of Magic and Wonder. They will also give you a confirmation number during the process. Write this number down and keep it! You will need this number for pulling your reservations up online and its very helpful if you call back again for tweaking plans. Once you have it all booked take a deep breath and walk away; at least for a day or two. You have done a lot of work up to this part and deserve a break.

Now that you have the resort booked it is time to figure out how you are arriving. Coming for the PNW we had little option but to fly. Now here is where my version of travel and Hubby’s grate. I can sleep anywhere; in a car, on a train, and in a plane, it doesn’t matter. Hubby cannot sleep in any of those situations. If I had had my way we would have taken a Midnight flight out of our airport and arrived around 1pm in Orlando. I told Hubby we could drug him to sleep on the longest part of the journey :D. He didn’t like that idea.

I never book my flights before I book my main reservations. I do this because its always been easier for me to make my flights work around my reservations. When I do finally go looking for my flights I check several sights before making my final purchase.

My first site is Hubby’s discount site. If you have a corporate discount available to you for private travel check it. If you do have a discount, still check other sites. I want the cheapest price! Yes, this means I spend some time finding the best price. After I have looked at Hubby’s discount site I move on to places like Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, ect. When I look at saving on flights I don’t count anything less then $100 a savings. I don’t count it because when I am looking at paying $400 a person already a total difference of $100 in final price isn’t really that big. With that said I typically to go through Expedia because they seem to have the lowest prices. Once I have it booked then I think the truly hard part is all over. You have a place to sleep, a way there and back, and you know that you can always find food on the park. The next process is making the reservations for table services.

You don’t have to have a dining plan to make reservations. The earliest you can start making reservations is 180 days in advance of your stay. Which if you are wanting character dining you should book as early as possible. The problem with making reservations at this late in the game, is finding a time that is available at the location you want. Again, be flexible in your plans. The second problem with making a dining reservation is pick a place to eat. In the total resort there are 53 table service locations, 11 character dining options, 12 signature restaurants, and 3 dinner shows. That is a lot of options! We made most of our reservations before we left. We had no problems making the few reservations we made while there. We also managed to get seated early (30 min) in all of reserved places. I made all my reservations thru the online Disney site. My only complaint with making reservations is that you can only look at one day at a time. So if you want a specific restaurant for dinner but couldn’t care less about the day, you end up checking all the days individually.

At this point you are ready to go except for packing! I’m going to review my experience in a later post and possible some odds and ends. Have a great day!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

One Response to Disney World- Planning and Reserving

  1. I believe I will probably visit the following place ever again soon.

What do you think?

