Pintrest Craft- Paper Roses

This is another Pintrest craft that I did. You can find a lot of websites with tutorials on them but I am going to show you mine.

The start of the rose project. Feel free to use any color paper.

The start of the rose project. Feel free to use any color paper.

First off is Paper! I have used mainly crayola construction paper. It’s nice an’ heavy to work with and it was cheap; I bought it on sale for something like $5 or less for three(3) 240 count packets. I’ve also used sheet music that I picked up at a UGM store and it worked well also; it also was cheap. See a trend here?

Second is the Circle! I am not gifted with circle making. I am great at ovals but can’t do a circle. When I go to make important circles I use a drafting compass. For big flowers I use as much as the Crayola sheet as I can. After I have made the circle to the desired size I move onto the cutting.

Cutting a wavy spiral makes the rose more realistic looking in the end.

Cutting a wavy spiral makes the rose more realistic looking in the end.

Third is Cutting the flower! Cut the circle out of the paper. Once you have a nice round circle start cutting a wavy spiral into. The wavy spiral will make the final flower look more realistic. You can also make a straight cut and the flower will look uniform in its “petals”. I have done both and the wavy form  and the straight form. The wavy form does make more realistic flowers, while the straight cut is easier to form.

Fourth is Rolling the flower! This is the hardest part of the entire process. Typically when I start to role the flower I use a pair of needle-nose pliers to hold the most inner portion of it. Today in this demo I didn’t use them because Hubby took them back. Make sure when you role your flower that you role it nice and tight. If you don’t role it tight your flower will be to open in the middle. Make sure you don’t let go of the middle of your flower. If you do let go no worries. Grab the middle of the flower roll with your nails or needle-nose pliers and tighten it back up as much a s possible.

Place your finger in the roll to recover the rose and to make the final rolling easier

Place your finger in the roll to recover the rose and to make the final rolling easier

When the flower roll starts to get hard to handle place your finger in the middle and wrap it around your finger.  When rolling it. make sure that the bottom is pretty level. As you roll more this will be come impossible. Don’t get frustrated, let the roll for a point at that end.  Roll till you just the middle of the spiral is left. Don’t roll this part up. Now take a deep breath and let go of the roll. Don’t let is unfurl to much  but do let it open up to form the actual Rose.

Place a glob of hot glue in the middle of the spiral end

Place a glob of hot glue in the middle of the spiral end

Fifth is Securing the Rose! Take your heated hot glue gun and place a nice sized glob in the middle of the spiral end. Once its on there press your flower bottom firmly onto the spot. you can probable use tacky glue or something like that but hot glue is faster and you don’t have to hold onto it while it dries. Now you have a pretty Paper Rose!!

Tidbits! The size of the paper circle with dictate the size of the rose you get. The more you let it unfurl the bigger the open rose. If you want a more of a rose bud look, don’t let it unfurl very far before glueing it.

Now I also like to put a stem on mine so that I can place them in a vase.

I used a pipe cleaner, I had them on hand. I have seen some on line that used flower wire. I haven’t tired it and right now the only flowers I have placed stems on are small ones.

Hot Glue gun, green paper, finished rose, pipe cleaner, and flower tape

Hot Glue gun, green paper, finished rose, pipe cleaner, and flower tape

First! Take your pipe cleaner and fold it in half. Then fold it again so that you get fourths. Then bend the open ends out just a little. This makes a plat form for the rose head.

Two (this is optional)! I make leafs for my roses. I’ve made large single leaves for roses that I have put on a flat surface. For rose stems I make dual leaves.

Rose leaves

I take a nice green piece of paper and fold just one edge of the paper up. I don’t fold it to far up, 1 inch at the most. I then go to one end and fold it on to itself. In the end I have a section that has four layers of paper. I then draw and cut out a leaf shape with a little stem as the folded end. When unfolded you end up with two leaves and a little connection part. I place this part between the two plat for pieces.

Third! Take your hot glue gun again and place a blob of glue on the platfrom. Make sure that you get some down to the leaves so they stay place also. Next, place your rose on the hot glue and push down to secure it.

Fourth! Take some flower tape and wrap it around the pipe cleaner for a more natural look to your Rose.

Finished Rose

Finished Rose

You now have a fully finished Paper Rose on stem! Happy crafting!!

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

