Perfect Pancakes… almost

For lunch the other day I was craving pancakes! After a long agonizing look at the array of vegetables in my fridge the pancakes won. I decided to make Birthday Cake pancakes (who doesn’t like sprinkles in their pancakes?) for lunch. The recipe can be found Here, the only change I made was adding more cake mix and you have to eyeball the milk. I didn’t make it with the glaze because I thought it was sweet enough already so I can’t comment on it.

Once I had the batter mixed up and the pan heating up; FYI set the pan on a LOW temp to get perfect golden pancakes. What, so I bake more then I cook 🙂 I was contemplating the best location for the mixing bowl, so that I wouldn’t waste lots of batter; with that many sprinkles at stake it would be sprinkle abuse. I remembered seeing a pancake pen in a store recenlty. It looks like a long fat mustard bottle, and I wondered how well they worked. I don’t have one, but what I had was an empty and freshly washed ketchup bottle.

To use the ketchup bottle effectively I had to pop out the piece in the nozzle. I did this with a toothpick and a little force. You want to remove this otherwise it will take a strongman to get the batter out.

 

Next you have to fill the container. If you have a funnel great I would recommend it. If you are like me and you don’t then oh well we figure it you. My measuring cups of little pour spouts on the side so I used my 1/4 cup size and drizzled it into the bottle. I did have to lift the cup above the opening but I didn’t waste any of it or make a big mess. Once you have the batter in the bottle the hard part is done. Just reattach the lid and finish waiting on your pan or griddle to warm up. Once it is ready to go add your favorite nonstick substance to it if desired. My house we use butter or nonstick spray but vegetable oil would work just as well. I don’t recommend olive oil due to the taste it will give the pancakes.

With your pan ready to go flip open the top of the ketchup container and place it over the pan. Invert the container and without pressing to hard on the sides allow the batter to exit the nozzle and enter the pan. Add as much batter to the pan as you like and then flip the container right side up to stop the flow.

There you have it almost perfectly round pancakes. No batter was dropped across the cooktop and you have stackable pancakes. It also makes the best Mickey Mouse pancakes ever! You also got to up-cycle a used product to a new purpose and this will allow the kids to help with pancake making safer. Enjoy!

Yes, I like my pancakes a little runny in the middle. I do not recommend it due to health concerns about under cooked egg products.

 

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

2 Responses to Perfect Pancakes… almost

  1. Mamalynn says:

    And with ketchup bottles, you can even store the leftover batter easily! Its such a great idea 🙂 I never knew that people ate undercooked pancakes! Are they nicer that way, perhaps a little moister?

    • Tara B. says:

      Yep, you could store leftover pancake batter that way or even pre-make the batter and then leave it in the bottle ready to go. Great way to do christmas morning pancakes or waffles. We seem to never have leftover pancake batter in our house. After we eat what we want fresh, I make the rest and freeze them. That way on busy weeks they can be sitting in the fridge ready to go for a quick zap in the microwave. I think that undercooked pancakes are moister kind of like undercooked biscuits are. My grandfather ate them that way when I was growing up, so I eat them that way too. 😀

What do you think?

