Take Backs

Have you ever asked or been asked the question “If you could take back anything you’ve said or done what would it be?”. I know I have been asked that question plenty of times, especially in college. My answer to this question has always and will always be Nothing.

This doesn’t imply that I haven’t done some stupid stuff; said things I shouldn’t have, or made decisions that later hurt me. My nothing means that I wouldn’t take any of those things back. People always asked, with a startled expression, why not? Why wouldn’t you take back all things you did wrong that may have made your life better? I wouldn’t take any of it back because… I wouldn’t be Me if I did.

Everything we do “wrong”, those stupid smart ass remarks to your parents and best friends, late night cram sessions, crazy parties, and all out fights have been the best learning experiences of my life.

I learned when to joke and when to stay serious. I learned to argue constructively with people versus destructively. I learned what a true friend was and how to let go of the fake ones. I learned that I was not a night owl but an early bird. I learned that a good movie, a best friends, and ice cream can scab a broken heart. I learned how strong I really was. Most of all, I learned who I was. I love who I have become. I am strong. I am a lover not a fighter; but if you hurt my friends and family I will kick your ass. I am a capable person. If I took back any experience or stupid thing I’d growing up I wouldn’t be who I am.

Every word we say, every action, every reaction shapes our future and ourselves. They were all great learning experiences and if we take them back we wouldn’t have the same life skills that we have today. We also wouldn’t be where we are today. If I look back to the worst thing I ever said and did and I think about how it would have turned out if I hadn’t, I cannot guess where I would be today. I dare you to look back at one major turning point in life and in your mind redo or undo it and think about that new outcome and where you would be today. Did you do it? Was it scary or nerve racking? The unknown of it all scares me. Would I have still married the same man? Would I have my dogs? Would I live in a house or apartment? Would I be happy like I am today? Would I be whom I am?

I won’t take anything back and I never will. I love my life and I love me. That’s all I need in my life.

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

