Sunday Morning, drop biscuits

I’ve said that Sunday mornings are my all out mornings… well this week was a little different. I stayed up till 3:30am Saturday night/Sunday morning canning. I managed to can 10.5 quarts of apple pie filling, 4 pints of applesauce, 3 quarts of apple butter, grated 5 cups of cucumbers, and grate 2+ pounds of zucchini. Then I went to bed after a quick not so great clean up round.

I was back up at 8:30am, that’s about 5 hours of sleep and I normally function on 8+ hours. Mr. B told me to keep sleeping while he read but my internal alarm had gone off and I couldn’t sleep any longer. So I got up, much to the dogs delight. After letting them out I settled in on finding a breakfast food. I was originally going to make raspberry and blueberry muffins for breakfast but I wanted something a little easier to do. I settled on drop biscuits. Mr. B loves drop biscuits, I personally like rolled biscuits but they take energy, which I was lacking. We had drop biscuits with butter, apple butter, applesauce, and warm apple cider that I got from a local co-op. It was very yummy and very filling and I got a nap in the afternoon! Life is good!

Drop Biscuits-
3 cups flour
tbsp baking powder
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt*
3/4 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 cup butter*
1/4 cup shortening*
11/4  cup milk

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. In a large bowl combine the flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, and cream of tartar. Cut in butter/shortening until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

Add milk and stir until mixture is moistened. Using a large spoon drop dough into 12 mounds on a greased baking sheet. Bake for 10 to 14 minutes or until golden.

*I omit the salt or decrease it severely in all my recipes. You can either use the butter shortening combination above or you can use 3/4 cup butter. 

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

