Dog tip #1

As I’ve said before I have 2 amazing dogs! They are my children and I treat them with love and respect. Shadow is my black lab/cocker mix she will turn 3 in a few days. She came to our house when she was 8 weeks and 3 pounds and we got her from dog control. Geordi is my un-beagle beagle (I’ll explain later). We got him at 7 weeks and 5 pounds, I think he was 5 pounds. We actually got him from a local “backyard” breeder and he cost us as much as rescuing one that young would have.

Before we brought either dog into our house we sat and discussed it. When Shadow came we had a 17 year old american mix in the house and were sure how she would take a puppy in the house. She did great with it! They never got cuddle but would play in their own way and Chocolate regained some energy. When we thought about getting a second dog after Chocolate went to heaven we heatedly discussed breeds 😀 He wanted a Beagle I didn’t want a hound. But, this was to be his dog not mine to I relinquished my ideas and made a deal with him.

Both Geordi and Shadow are thriving in our house! Just this morning Shadow and I tried dock jumping (dog jumps off a dock into a pool of water after a ball and you aim for distance), we can’t do it but hey at least we tried and had fun while doing so! Geordi is off leashed trained and Shadow has passed the AAI particle exam. All of this took dedication to them from Mr. B and I, but also building the “team” that we have with them. I want to share with you a tip to make a happy home like we have.

My first tip is that before you go the pound, rescue group, breeder, or friend sit down with your family and the people that will be caregivers and talk about the decision. Taking in a new member of the family isn’t something to do lightly. They will depend on you for everything! They need you to feed them, provide them water, reassure them when they are scared, let them out to potty, exercise them, and play with them. If you cannot or will not do all that for them then I beg you to not take in an animal. Make sure that everyone that will tend to the animal is onboard with what is necessary for his or her care and keeping.

So in short: Don’t take in an animal if you cannot or will not meet the needs of the animal.

 

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

