Sunday Morning, Beignets

I love Sunday mornings. Sundays tend to be our lazy days were we play video games, sleep in, and watch a movie marathon. It also means that I get the opportunity to go all out on breakfast! I get to roll out of bed pull on comfy sweats and a sweatshirt, and head to the kitchen. Once there I set my instant hot water to boil and feed the dogs. If I don’t feed them before I start making anything they will sit and watch every move I make and whine, or at least Geordi does Shadow just looks pathetic. By that point my hot water is ready and I have to make the choice do I want tea, hot chocolate, or hot cider?

Sunday morning food can range from omelets with blue cheese, fresh veggies, and ham all the way to homemade cinnamon rolls. A couple weeks ago it was a little different. I was supposed to go for a long with a friend so I made my fancy breakfast on Saturday. That week I decided to make Beignets; if you have never had them think Italian zeppole otherwise, think light and fluffy air filled doughnut. These amazing little things come from France but in New Orleans when you hear  “going for coffee and doughnuts.” What you are hearing really means going for coffee and beignets. Beignets are most often enjoyed with café au lait, dark coffee served with equal part hot milk. Anyways enough history and back to cooking!

You have to make the dough the night before so that it has time to rise and become firm enough to handle. They really are easy with the only two dangers are the hot oil you fry them and how many you eat.

Once they come out of the oil you have a couple options. You can dump them into a bag filled with powdered sugar (great for the kids in the family that want to help), sprinkle them light with powdered (for those worried about the sugar calories), or you can combine in the above with taking a filling tip and filling them with… jam, Boston cream, you name it! We eat ours with a little powdered sugar. They are so good and very filling and not all that healthy but who cares? You should eat unhealthy foods every once in a while to make you enjoy they healthy ones even more 😀

Here is the recipe I used so you don’t have to go looking for one:

1 cup lukewarm water
¼ cup granulated sugar
½ teaspoon salt
1 large egg, room temp and beaten
2 tablespoons butter, softened
½ cup evaporated milk (I didn’t have any so I used heavy whipping cream and half and half)
4 cups bread flower or all-purpose
3 teaspoons active dry yeast Vegetable oil for frying Powdered Sugar

                         Place water, sugar, salt, egg, butter, milk, flout, and yeast into either a Stand up mixer or food processor. Beat/pulse until smooth, remove from bowl and place into a lightly greased bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and regriate until well chilled (3 to 4 hours or overnight).

Heat oil until 360 degrees F; if you are using a regular pan fill till about 2 inches deep. Roll out dough till about ½ thick and cut into 3-inch squares, triangles, or circles (or any other shape) and fry for about 2 to 3 minutes turning the beignets once or twice till they are evenly golden. NOTE: if they do not rise to the top of the oil once in it they oil is not hot enough. Remove and wait for a minute then retry it.                        Drain on paper towels, while warm coat and enjoy!

P.S. While I am posting this I have cinnamon and sticky buns rising in the kitchen for breakfast today 🙂

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

