Saving while Food Shopping

Food shopping is one of my favorite and least favorite activities.  I love going into the stores and wandering all the isles, which why Mr. B. doesn’t go with me, looking at the items and letting my mind come up with  food ideas and things to try. The hard part and my least favorite part is not grabbing all the items off the shelf. So to keep budget and myself in line I make a very detailed list of items needed and wanted. Than I go shopping; but before I do I check a few things.

I check all the convenient adds in my area. I really mean all of them, Safeway, Fred Meyer’s, and Roth’s. I have a Safeway club card and I do use it. I check the club prices and the personalized prices on items that I need. I don’t check Albertson because there isn’t one close enough to me to make the trip to it worth my while. I typically have my rough grocery list at my side and then my grocery “wish list”. My “wish list” is items that I don’t need but would like to have if they are on sale somewhere. Things like cake mixes, canned frosting, chocolate chips, cookies, brownie mix, and the like. My rough grocery list are things that are running low and things that I will need to have for meals for the next two weeks. I then go through the ads and write down where, what item, and advertised price of each item on my list going from more needed items to less needed items. Now if I one store say Fred Meyers only has a couple items what are only slightly less then Safeway (which is closer to my house) I don’t go. The pennies aren’t worth the fuel that it would take to get to Fred Meyers.

Before I leave the house I eat at least a snack (or try to) and drink a glass of water or tea. I do this so I am not hungry when I make it to the store; this keeps me from varying from the list and getting fluff items. I take the house binder with me that hold my shopping list, notebook, and coupon book. I diligently stick to my shopping list, or do my absolute best too, and always pay in cash. This new method works really well for me. I typically don’t buy meats at Safeway, Fred Meyers, and Roth’s; I do this because we have a Costco membership and meat tends to be cheaper there and from Zaycon Foods.

The buy our meat at Costco in quantities because it cheaper and in larger quantities that we divide up and vacuum seal it into smaller one meal plus left over quantities. If you don’t have a vacuum sealer get one! You can vacuum seal and freeze just about anything and when you thaw it out it doesn’t dribble meat juice everywhere. We also make our own hamburgers from the large quantities we buy at Costco or from Zaycon Foods. We add things like salsa, cheese, spices, and other seasonings. Chicken breast from Zaycon Foods is huge and we froze two breasts per bag and get a meal plus lots of leftovers in one bag. These we have to butterfly when we go to cook them because the big end is over an inches thick. There are a few items that I hardly ever buy.

These items are things like bread, pies, cookies, piecrust, and pie fillings. I don’t buy these things because I can make them at home for less money and I enjoy making them. Also this summer we are splitting a CSA with some friends so each week get a healthy supply of vegetables. That means that right now I am only buying fruit from the stores or specific vegetables that I need that week.

With all the ad searching, big bulk buying, and only buying what I need I manage to save a lot on my shopping lists. When I go to Safeway alone with my club card, ad shopping, and coupons I tend to save 20% or more on my shopping list.

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

