My Favorite Kitchen Tools… Round 2

Welcome back to My Tools for round 2. This round is going to cover the tools that I use that… drum roll… come from the garage! These tools were not designed for any of the things that I use them for and some poor engineer is rolling his eyes that I even use these tools this way. Do note though that I thoroughly sanative the tools before and after each use. No reason to get sick in the name of laziness. So with out further adieu here are the tools.

Lets start off with the infrared temperature gun. This item gets used the most at Christmas time when I make fudge, caramels, and other like goodies that I have to know the temperature for. Yes, I could go out and by a fancy candy thermometer and use it during one season each year. That just doesn’t make good sense to me. Why would I spend $10-$30 on something that is going to be used for less then 3 months? All I have to do is go rescue this out of the garage and put in a new 9v battery and I am in business!

The next tool is the square. For those that aren’t familiar with this tool it makes a perfect 90-degree angle and Mr B. keeps telling that it can do other cool things if you know how to use it. I love it for the 90-degree angle and the fact that its also a ruler. I love baking with this when I need nice clean lines. Most commonly I use it for Gingerbread houses (along with a protractor), pie lattices, and measuring out dough lengths and widths for things such as brie wheels, empanadas, ect; rulers also a great kitchen tool. I have several small 6-inch rulers that I use for small things, like how thick is the dough, that I don’t want to pull the square out for.

The weirdest tool I have every used in my kitchen is a body hammer. A body hammer is used in auto bodywork and metalworking. It is along the lines of a finishing tool that is used to remove dents out of cars when they go in for bodywork repair. It also makes the best meat mallet! Because it’s fully made out of metal you don’t have to work to hard to flatten the meat. The weight alone will flatten small pieces of meat. With this tool especially make sure not to sterilize it but also protect the meat and the hammer from touching.

So that basically ends my tool section. These are the least uncommon tools that I use in my kitchen but they get the job done. Of course I have all the standard things like kitchen aid, calphlon pots and pans, wooden spoons and paddles, baking stone, ect. I love them all but so does everyone else.

Hope you’ve enjoyed my kitchen tool series! Now when I start naming strange tools in my kitchen stories you won’t be so lost 😀

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

