Oh Budget!

Oh budget…. I love you and hate you all at the same time! So Mr. B and I run our home on a very strict budget.

My OCD and Control factors come out on my budget. I have a line item for everything that I can think of! My and Mr. B’s allowance, groceries, car maintenance, vacation, utilities (itemized of course :D), entertainment, dining out, ect. I have a binder devoted to my budget (which I have printed out and hole punched), a notebook that goes shopping with me so I can write down my shopping totals, and my coupons. I am not an extreme couponer. I take the coupons that come in the Wednesday paper, Safeway, and Fred Meyers; I don’t go out of my way to collect six coupons of one thing. My two-person house doesn’t need the six jars of peanut butter that it takes to get the discount. Anyways, the binder also contains my homemade budget savers (laundry detergents and cleaning supplies). I haven’t made any of these items yet because 1) I haven’t needed to and 2) Still working on my cost comparison for these products. Yes, it sounds WAY over board for maintaining a budget.

For every paycheck that comes I sit down and move the money around as needed so that everything is covered and where it needs to be. My grocery money comes out in cash. I do this so I can better manage and “see” it. Not sure how to explain seeing the money other then its harder for me to spend in on fluff items if I can see how much is left. I also enforce the budget. It does me no good to write a budget, execute the budget, and then not follow through. This means making sure every adult in the house knows what the money left on the debit cards it for so they don’t see money and spend it on fluff items. It does make you the mean guy every once in awhile but its better then pulling out the credit cards to pay for things.

So short and sweet: make the budget (together or alone but DO talk about it together), follow the budget plan, enforce the budget, and freeze/lock up the credit cards.

About Tara B.
Hi, I am Tara B. and its great to meet you!! I am an outgoing person with introvert tendencies. I have two amazing dogs that I love and adore! You will hear about them and their adventures a lot :D I also have the most amazing husband! Together he and I have Miss Go Go (you'll also see her referred to as Baby B) that was born in the spring of 2015. She is smart, quick learner, and loves to mimic everything she sees. I love to cook, bake, try to stay healthy, and read. I love to explore my area (and the world when life allows), and seek out fun things to do. You want more information just ask! I am horrible at writing "About You" sections...:) If you have any questions, comments, ect I can be reached at CraftsByTaraB@gmail.com.

What do you think?

